Translate

Monday, November 30, 2015

Here are the answers to the October 2015 Contest .

Unfortunately no one won the October 2015 Contest . First is a look at what was shown .

And the following pictures are the answers.

They are WWE Mattel Diva figures Layla and Vickie Guerrero . Good luck everyone in the next contest !!!

Saturday, November 28, 2015

November 2015 Contest !!! Win 10 Dollars !!!

You can have 10 dollars PayPaled to you if you answer this action figure related trivia .....

Who do these feet / shoes belong to ? This time you just name the individual. No toy company.

You have until New Year's Eve , December 31, 2015 to come up with the correct answer . Good luck everyone !!!

Friday, November 27, 2015

Flea Market and Thrift Store Finds Part 4

Here are some more goodies from a local Goodwill store grab bag .
That Spider-Man came with some vehicle . I do not see the words Toybiz or Hasbro on the figure so I have no idea where this Spidey figure is from , or the vehicle . In the middle is Luke Skywalker , and on the end is a Chewbacca riding an At-At walker wind up toy from Mcdonald's Happy Meals .
You can tell that this Luke Skywalker figure came with a light saber. This one did not . Look closely and you'll see a knob on his back to make his arms move up and down , as if to swing the sword .

It's always great to collect some extra Hot Wheels . Rather it's from a flea market, thrift store, or a regular store , Mattel's Hot Wheels are always nice to have .


I think I saw the dragon looking creature at the recent Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade . As almost always with Goodwill grab bags , there'll be stuff in them for older adults and very young children mixed together. As you can tell, that Harry Osborn Green Goblin figure is for 3-4 year olds . I'm too old for that thing, ha haa lol . Same situation with the dragon like creature. However since this is a toy site, I'm just showing you what the grab bag came with , even if there are baby toys involved . I have no idea who the kid amputee is .


Finally , the real reason I purchased this grab bag is shown above . No, I'm not speaking of Cheetara and Psylocke , I've already had both of those figures for a while now and they did not come with the grab bag. They are shown for demonstration purposes. The main thing that caught my attention is the vehicle in the above pics. I'm trying to find some vehicles for any or all of my 6 inch scaled action figures . As you can see the women are almost a perfect fit except just one problem . They can not bend down far enough to hold the handle bars . Oh well, it's a neat toy vehicle still, It is die-cast metal mixed with plastic . All of the wheels are spring loaded . If you want this exact vehicle for yourself , you can do one of two things. First you can google the word " Schylling " and you'll bump into the website of the toy company at http://www.schylling.com/ . Or secondly you can go to E-bay and type in " Schylling " again to locate either the above or other vehicles .
Finally , a short video for your entertainment of the Chewbacca toy in action .
video
I hope you enjoyed this article . More like this to come .

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

HAPPY THANKS GIVING 2015 !!!!

Happy thanksgiving everyone!!! This blog was started in 2013 , and in case you missed the action figure tributes to the Thanksgiving holiday , the following are links to both tributes . First is a link to the 2013 tribute - http://actionfigureimagerytoyreviews.blogspot.com/2013/11/tribute-to-thanksgiving-action-figure.html   .


Now for the link to the 2014 tribute -
http://actionfigureimagerytoyreviews.blogspot.com/2014/11/happy-thanksgiving-toy-lines-throughout.html .


As for this year's tribute, I'm not sure if many of you remember the Masters of the Universe performance at the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade in the late 1980s . Since MOTU began first as action figures before any other form of entertainment such as cartoons or comics , this footage is definitely action figure related . There are three videos with the MOTU footage , but instead of posting links to all three videos, I'll just tell you what to type into Youtube's search engine to find them . To pull up the videos, go to Youtube and you can type in " masters of the universe thanksgiving parade " . That's what I typed in to find them and they appeared .


Again Happy Thanksgiving everyone and may God bless you all !!!

Sunday, November 22, 2015

Flea Market & Thrift Store Finds Part 3 !!!

The following are pics of some figures and toys purchased at a local Goodwill and thrift store.

I recognize the two characters from " Avatar - The Last Airbender" but not the other figures.


This Spider-mobile version is really cool and is one of my favorite items To my surprise however, this is not a Toybiz product . Underneath the vehicle Hasbro is seen and the year is 2012 . You can fit small action figures into each slot, especially when removing the hoods.

( NOTE ) Cheetara was not from a flea market or thrift store. I purchased her elsewhere, can't remember rather it was Target or Walmart . She is there for display purposes. She is in the six inch scale and as you can see that six inch figures may be a little bit too big for this car . Notice that Cheetara's knees had to be bent, and even with bent knees she still does not fit in properly. However five inch figures and shorter fit perfectly . That's it for this short article and  I hope you enjoyed the pics .

Sunday, November 15, 2015

Marvel Legends Infinite Series - Thundra Review !!!

I was kind of surprised that I purchased this figure at a local Walgreens of all places . For around 20 plus dollars with tax included. This is Thundra's first time in the Marvel Legends line . These Hulk Buster Series figures are just now appearing at the stores locally where I live. The availability of Thundra also completes one of the versions of the Lady Liberators , one of several teams she has been a member of .



As you can see Thundra is paired in this series along with one of her Lady Liberator teammates, Valkyrie . Thundra is also one of the few big women, as in size, in the line. She's not a normal sized lady, as you'll discover in a moment . For now, below are pics of Thundra unboxed and out of the packaging. 



This is one cool looking figure. She is very muscular , she has a six-pack belly like a guy . Her belt is loose and can be rotated around or cut off with a pair of scissors . Some parts of her costume are kind of reminiscent of DC's super hero Shazam/ Captain Marvel . Like him she's wearing red with gold trimming, and I like the gold lightning bolts on her legs. The lightning bolts also are reminiscent of Shazam . Thundra has a small hole in her upper back, and I have no idea why that hole is there. Now for a look at the accessories that she came with . 
Above are the accessories that come with Thundra . The left arm of the build-a-figure Hulk Buster Iron-Man and her ball and chain weapon . Since both of Thundra's hands are opened fists, her weapon can be displayed in either hand . This is a great luxury to have with this figure because of the multiple display options, as the pics below illustrate . 

As you can see the weapon can be displayed upward, downward, and in either hand . As mentioned earlier  Thundra is one of a few bigger female figures around . The pics below illustrate her size .



Thundra was made correctly by Hasbro scale wise, because her Marvel Wiki profile lists her at 7 feet 2 inches  tall, whereas you can see that the toy is right around 7 inches tall . The first female figure Thundra is compared to is Ann O' Brien from the Legendary Comic Book Super Heroes series. Lots of similarities between her and Thundra. Similar size and height, they're both redheads and they both possess super strength as a power . In the final pic Thundra is compared to one of her Lady Liberator teammates , She-Hulk . She is supposed to be bigger than She-Hulk, according to the comics. In both of their Marvel Wiki profiles, She-Hulk is listed as 6"7 compared to Thundra at 7"2 . Hasbro made both of these figures above and I wonder did or do they realized their mistake . If not that's okay with me I still love both figures. Before Thundra was made, I was thinking that she might share the same body as She-Hulk, since they're both similar in size . Not just me, but I'm sure many other fans thought this as well . Well as you can now see, they do NOT share the same body . I'm glad that they do not. Thundra has her own newly sculpted body . 
I'm sure many of you recognize Thundra from this issue that is not all that old, it came out a few years ago. If you pay close attention , we now have Marvel Legends of every female character on that cover, with Thundra being the most recent addition . 

FINAL   THOUGHTS

(1) ARTICULATION - She has the normal articulation that comes with the majority of today's female Marvel Legends . An issue with her like many others is that the hard plastic hair is once again somewhat restricting head movement . 

(2) STANDING  ABILITY - Position her upper thighs at a certain angle and she stands nicely. Stands really good on wooden surfaces. 

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - The idea that Thundra's appearance completes one of the versions of the Lady Liberators . I love her outfit and her muscles, along with the option to pose her with her weapon in multiple display options . 

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - There is nothing that I dislike about this figure . 

(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE THIS  FIGURE  ? - Softer hair so the head movement can be better . A real chain for her ball and chain weapon instead of plastic would have been nice. However a real chain would have also added on to production costs, so a plastic chain is cheaper to produce. 

(6) GRADING  SCALE - A Perfect 10 !!! Despite the flaws, I'm not bothered by them , thus deserving Thundra a perfect score. 

(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS - It's great to finally have a Marvel Legend figure of Thundra for two reasons. One is that I think she is a great looking figure with a nice outfit and cool weapon that allows multiple display and fight posing options. Two her induction into the line completes a group, a team . The Lady Liberators. 

Sunday, November 8, 2015

WWE Mattel Earthquake Review !!!

This Earthquake figure is an Elite Collection Flashback figure, Series 35, " First time in the line" figure. I purchased this figure at a local Walmart for around 20 plus dollars with tax included. When I use to watch WWE back in the early 1990s and 1980s , Earthquake was one of my favorite wrestlers because of his finishing move . He'd stomp the ring and make it produce a loud rumbling noise, then he would squash his opponent with all of his weight. He also had this cool move in a couple of early WWE video games . One of the best features of the Mattel WWE line is that the figures are in scale height-wise with what they are in real life. So I was a bit surprised to discover that Earthquake was not as big ( physically big ) not popularity big as I thought , at least in height . He is listed at 6"7 . Which is tall however I always thought he was much taller than that . I was guessing about that maybe he was a 7 footer or at least 6"10 or 6"11 . You'll see what I mean when I compare him to other figures in the line in a few moments .



As you can see Earthquake comes with two bonus accessories, Damien the snake and the snake bag . It seems like WWE Mattel is taking a page out of Masters of the Universe Classics. What I mean by that statement is Earthquake comes with two accessories that do not belong to him, they belong to Jake"The Snake" Roberts . Just like MOTU Classics have accessories with certain figures that belong to other characters, the same scenario is present in this situation. However there is a connection . Earthquake and Jake the Snake had a feud against each other, and one of Earthquake's tactics was stealing Damien away from Jake , and according to the script, squashing him . You can Google " Earthquake squashes Damien" and it will show up. This explains why Damien and the bag are packaged with Quake. Good news about Damien for those of you wondering, it was later learned that Damien was not in the bag and Quake actually squashed some ground beef . You can Google this also it is true. Speaking of Damien and the bag, below are closer looks at the accessories .

  The bag itself is made of real linen material and it can be pulled upwards with the string. This is actually Damien's second appearance in the line, or is this really Damien ? More on that in a moment . The snake is long and made of a rubbery plastic. You can bend him however he can not be straightened out into a straight line pose . Now for closer looks at the Earthquake action figure.



As you can see Quake stands at almost 7 inches tall . Mattel did a great job with attention to detail with this figure . He has a receding hairline at the top of his head. The tattoo on his left arm is displaying the face of a tiger, along with chest hair.His long hard shoulder length hair restricts head movement quite a bit, but I'm not bothered by it .Mostly up and down head movement is somewhat restricted because of the hair, not so much with side to side head movement . Posing Quake with Damien in the above pic, at first I had a little difficulty trying to pry his fingers open to hold the string, so I took the pic with the string wrapped around his wrist. Later after taking the pick I was able to pry his fingers open with ease. As mentioned earlier, I was a bit surprised at Quake's height, or lack thereof from which I thought of him height wise. He almost looks short when standing next to or around other "bigs" throughout WWE history , as the comparison pics below illustrate.


It looks like Kamala is one of the few " big guy " wrestlers similar in size to Earthquake. I was surprised that he is almost dwarfed by the Big Show, at least in height . Now back to the snake for a moment, or should I say "snakes" ? For those of you that have been collectors of this line since it debuted , you already know that this is not the first toy of Damien in this line. You know that the first Damien was packaged with his owner , Jake "The Snake" Roberts . Below are pics illustrating how different the two Damien figures are .

Looking at these pics kind of makes one wonder is that the same snake after all of those years. The one that came with Jake is the shorter, gray one. It is known that snakes shed their skin, but I was not sure about snakes changing color until I googled the topic . It appears that some have according to some articles online. However, back to the toys before I get too far off topic here . I forgot to mention earlier that the version of Damien that comes with Earthquake does not fit into the bag very easily , whereas the smaller version that came with Jake fits really well into it, with only his head protruding when the string is pulled up . Now that Earthquake finally made it into this line, you can re-live the feud between him and Jake . Also I've displayed Jake with both versions of Damien to give you an idea of which version he looks the coolest with . If you ask me, I like the one that came with Quake displayed with him better. The longer snake makes for cooler looking poses in my opinion .



                                                     
                                                           FINAL    THOUGHTS  

(1) ARTICULATION - Excellent all around articulation . Head movement is somewhat restricted by the hair, as mentioned earlier .

(2) STANDING  ABILITY - Quake stands perfectly. No balance issues. Plus being a big bulky action figure helps his balance somewhat .

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - I'm glad that Earthquake is finally in the line. Big bulky action figures are always fun to have. Plus blue is one of my favorite colors.

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - There is nothing that I dislike about this figure.

(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THE  FIGURE ? - Softer hair for better head movement .

(6) GRADING  SCALE - Despite the flaw with the head movement, I give this figure a PERFECT 10 . Excellent all around action figure, and I'm not bothered by the limited head movement . After all, limited head movement has become frequent on a lot of perfect figures as of late.

(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS - Glad to finally have an action figure of Earthquake. Now I am waiting on Mattel , along with other fans, to make his tag team partner known as Typhoon. If or when Typhoon is made, his presence along with Quake will give us collectors the mighty tag team known as " The Natural Disasters" !!!