Translate

Thursday, June 30, 2016

Answers to the May 2016 Contest .

Unfortunately no on won the May 2016 Contest. Here is the trivia pic that was shown .
And below is the answer .
They belong to Ric Flair of the WCW Toybiz line. Good Luck in the next Contest !!!

Tuesday, June 28, 2016

June 2016 Contest . Win 10 dollars !!!

Give the name of this toy to win 10 dollars via Paypal . This contest expires July 31,2016 . GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE !!!

Sunday, June 26, 2016

Action Figure Imagery Toy Reviews plans on doing Youtube Reviews in future .

However I am thinking of doing both video reviews along with the written reviews here . There are no plans to discontinue working here on this blog. The blog will continue. After all, everything is not in place just yet to do video reviews. I have the type of camcorder that I want to use however other factors weigh in when doing video reviews such as .................................................


(1) I need to purchase a good tripod .


(2) Need to think of a good time when to do the video reviews . Family and friends interrupting by calling are factors that determine when to film.


(3) I need to purchase a small microphone. People on Youtube videos or any video with mics can be heard better than ones without mics.


(4) I need space and more room for lights when doing reviews at night .


So when all of those things mentioned above are taken care of video reviews of toys can be done, along with the continued work here .

Saturday, June 25, 2016

Paul Bearer Build-A-Figure WWE Mattel

Although Paul is not the first build-a-figure from the WWE Mattel franchise , he is the first WWE build-a-figure in my collection. You must purchase four different figures in order to complete him . I purchased all four figures for around a 12 dollar price range at a local Walmart . So in reality you spend nearly 50 dollars to complete Paul Bearer , or maybe exactly at or above fifty dollars after taxes . At least the figures are cheap since they are Basic and not Elite .Below are the figures needed to complete Paul Bearer .
For many fans The Undertaker and Chris Jericho need no introduction . The other two from left to right are Neville and Rusev . Rusev comes with Paul Bearer's torso. Undertaker includes the legs . Neville comes with the arms . And finally, Jericho comes with the head and urn . Below are two images of the above figures in the packaging. So if you're interested in a Paul Bearer figure, you'll know what the packaging looks like.


The back of the packaging is the same for all four of the figures that you need to complete Bearer . Now for a look at the main figure itself , Paul Bearer .


The only gripe I have about this Paul Bearer figure is that sometimes it can be a struggle to make him hold onto his urn without it falling out of his grasp. Other than that it's great to have him in my collection. This is the third manager figure for me. The other two are Jimmy Hart and Paul Heyman . Back to the issue with the urn . In order to get it to stay in his grip securely, take a look at the pic above. This may be the best way to make him hold it securely, with his elbow curved and hand bent upwards to secure the grip . The above pic is how I will display my Paul Bearer figure from now on. If you decide to display him with the urn the way he is displayed on the card back , you may have to be weary of a slight breeze blowing by making the urn fall off of his closed fist . The figure itself is amazing. Lots of attention to detail, you'll even notice the eye shadow around his eyes, very neat . Now for a look at Paul with the two wrestlers he managed in WWE , The Undertaker and Kane .



The first pic of Paul with Undertaker is Bearer with an Elite version of Taker . The second pic of Bearer with Taker is the Undertaker figure that you need to purchase to complete Paul . So I now have two Undertaker figures in my collection . The Kane figure you see is the only Kane figure in my WWE Mattel collection. I do not own any versions of the original Kane with the mask and red suit. Just the unmasked version of Kane . I plan on buying the original masked version someday. Finally the above pic is Paul with both of the men that he has managed in his WWE tenure. As many of you old school WWE fans already know , he managed The Undertaker first and Kane second . As a bonus, below are comparison pics of the two Undertaker figures I own .

The one to your left with the open mouth is the Elite version of Taker, and the one on the right with closed mouth is the one you must purchase to gain access to Paul's head and urn . Notice the differences and similarities ?  Elite Taker seems to have a wider forehead than the basic one. That's kind of strange since they are the same person. However people's looks do change, so I think the basic version is of a younger Undertaker and the Elite version is based on an older Taker . So by looking at the above pic it is known that Mattel does not re-use the same head molds for multiple figures of the same character . I think this is good strategy for multiple figures of the same character, it gives a sense of variety in the line. Great job Mattel !!!
FINAL    THOUGHTS
(1) ARTICULATION -  Paul Bearer has the same articulation that all of the WWE Elite figures have.

(2) STANDING  ABILITY - Paul stands fine without any balance issues.

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - Finally having Paul in the collection is a luxury in itself. Not to mention another manager figure, plus the Undertaker and Kane just do not feel complete without him . Now that Paul's here both of those figures now feel complete when posing them with him .

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - There is nothing that I dislike about this figure.

(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THE  FIGURE ? - Only one thing . Make it easier for Paul to hold his urn . Maybe some extra hands would have been nice and may have helped . Similar to what now is being done with most Marvel Legends .

(6) GRADING  SCALE - On a scale of 1 to 10 I think Bearer is a Perfect 10, despite the issue with holding the urn. This does not bother me since I have a solution to that problem with the pic of him holding it with a curved elbow.

(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS - One more thing to nitpick about Bearer, not a complaint just something noticeable . Which is, the action figure seems to be a lot slimmer than the real life person. I'm ok with this however because the figure still looks really cool . Also, quoting Bearer himself with his catch phrase " Ohhh yes" it's a great feeling to finally have this figure in the collection .




Saturday, June 18, 2016

Tuesday, June 14, 2016

WWE Mattel Bayley and Lana Review !!!

Two figures in one review . I'll review Bailey first, then Lana . Both of these figures were purchased at a local Walmart for around the same price range as all of the Basic figures, around the 9.99 - 12.00 price range.


As you can see both figures are part of the same wave, therefore they share the same packaging. Now for a look at Bayley out of the packaging .


Bayley is a welcomed addition to the line. Not only is she a " first time in line" figure but unlike most of the Diva figures she is wearing long trunks. A majority of the female figures are wearing those daisy duke like shorts, which is okay however it does get bothersome having almost each figure wearing the exact same outfits, so a change is good.  Also I love the light blue color in her outfit. Her ponytail is bendy and the ribbon on her hair can be removed. As with all WWE Mattel figures, everything is detailed nicely , from the dimples in her cheekbones to triceratops drawing on her right thigh .
Now on to the Lana figure.



Unlike Bayley , this is NOT Lana's first appearance in the line. Her first figure comes in a two pack wearing a pink outfit instead of blue, with her fiancée known as Alexander Rusev. I like this blue outfit on her better than the pink one . Not because I like the color blue better but because I think it looks better on her . The mini skirt only restricts her movement somewhat if you try to move the legs outward. However it is easy to put her in a sitting position, so if you want her to sit in a chair behind a desk you can, since she resembles an office worker more than she does a wrestler or valet . As you can see the high heels, or are those stilettos . make her a lot taller than the average female figure . Just view the pic below from a side angle and you'll notice that she is literally standing tip toed .
In real life Lana is listed at 5"7 . So in real life these same shoes probably make her top 6 feet or near it . However the toy is almost seven inches tall , therefore I feel that the only mistake made involving this Lana figure is that I think she may be a tad bit a little too tall. Other than that a nice action figure. Back to the height, observe just how much taller she is than Bayley .
In real life Bayley is listed at 5"6 and Lana at 5"7 . Therefore there should not be this much of a height difference between the two action figures, even with the high heels on Lana . Despite that they both are very nicely detailed, colorful action figures and I'm glad to add them both to my collection .
                                                          FINAL   THOUGHTS
(1) ARTICULATION - Both figures maintain the same basic articulation that all of the WWE Mattel Diva figures have. Lana's up and down head movement seems a little easier  .


( 2) STANDING  ABILITY - They both stand well although Bayley stands a little more secure because she's flat footed. Lana's heels make standing somewhat of a challenge but it can be easily accomplished when the figure is positioned correctly.


(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THESE  FIGURES ? - LANA - the dark blue in her outfit and the office attire outfit itself . Love the idea that the dress does not hinder sitting . BAYLEY - the light blue in her outfit. The option of letting the bow stay in her hair or removing it .


(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THESE  FIGURES ? - Lana is just a little bit too tall. Other than that there is nothing that I dislike about these figures .


(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THESE  FIGURES ? - Only one figure could have been improved, which is Lana . Make her a little bit shorter. Bayley is perfect the way she is .


(6) GRADING  SCALE - LANA - 9.8 . The minus is for her being too tall, other than that I would have given her a Perfect 10 . BAYLEY - Perfect 10 . No flaws .


(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS - Mattel is on a roll now with the Divas . Keep "em" coming Mattel !!!

Friday, June 3, 2016

Ghostbusters - Patty Tolan Review !!!

The NEW FEMALE Ghostbusters are here, and my first figure of this franchise/series is Patty Tolan , played by actress and comedian Leslie Jones . I'm also a fan of Saturday Night Live, and since Leslie Jones is a regular cast member, purchasing the Patty Tolan action figure was an easy choice. I purchased this figure at a local Walmart priced at $ 19.99 . I was excited about these female Ghostbuster figures when I first heard about them, so finally owning one is a nice luxury .





As for the packaging, I love the bright green vivid colors . Now let's have a look at Patty Tolan out of the packaging .






I'm assuming the picture of Patty on the back of the packaging is a prototype. The reason I say this is because on the packaging the lipstick is a bright red , whereas the actual figure's lips are more of a brownish orange look , which matches the orange in her outfit . I like the look of the actual figure better than the pic by the way . My only complaint about this figure is that the head articulation only consists of left and right movement . There is no up and down head movement . However I am not bothered by this because the rest of the figure is really cool . I love how her hair is very detailed with the braids , along with the tinted brown braids. The uniform looks great . Most of all, I am glad that Tolan is exactly six inches tall , and the reason why is because Leslie Jones is six feet tall , as I googled her and discovered her height . This is important to me because I love it when action figures that represent real people are in scale height wise with the person . For example, a six foot tall person needs a six inch figure of themselves, a seven footer with a seven inch figure , etc .  All of the figures come with the background of green slime that you see above . Now let's have a look at the backpack .

Nothing new here however, as the women are wearing the same gear that Egon and the guys wore . Still a great job by Mattel with the details, the colored buttons along with the circuitry on the gun . If you want to remove the backpack, you can however I would not recommend doing this, because it looks like it will be a struggle to put back on . I'm leaving the backpacks on all of my figures, once I purchase them all that is . Even better Tolan's backpack does NOT make her top heavy , probably because she is somewhat of a big lady , in a good way of course .
As for the build a figure , Patty Tolan comes with the head of the character known as Rowan .
I never thought I would see the day when the Ghostbusters logo would become an actual character , but that's exactly what this character is . He is the same ghost seen in the logo . Now for a comparison shot , to see if the Patty Tolan figure looks like Leslie Jones or similar to her.
( NOTE ) The pic from the movie does NOT belong to me . It is a pic from the web to be used as a reference . In my opinion , I think it sort of resembles Leslie and sort of does not . It looks like Mattel got the  nose, dimples, and hair done correctly . However the shape of the face/head appears slightly different . It looks as if Leslie's face is just a tad bit rounder than the figure's . It would also be nice if Mattel included the ear rings and necklace that Lesle is wearing onto the figure . However since there are always deadlines to beat they probably did not have the free time to add these extra features .
                                                      FINAL    THOUGHTS
( 1 ) ARTICULATION -  Starting with UPPER BODY - from head to waistline . Head moves left and right. No up and down movement. Arms move outwards , up and down . Shoulders bend and rotate. Elbows bend and rotate . Both wrists rotate .Waistline swivels, turns. No ab crunch. LOWER BODY - Legs move outward, up and down .Lower thighs swivel and rotate. Knees bend . Ankles bend .


( 2 ) STANDING  ABILITY - She stands really well with no balance issues. The backpack does not make her top heavy .


( 3 ) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - Since I am a fan of Saturday Night Live , having a likeness of Leslie Jones as an action figure is a nice luxury . I also like the fact that the figure is in scale height wise with the real life person .


( 4 ) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? There is nothing that I dislike about this figure .


( 5 ) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THE  FIGURE ? - Include up and down head movement .


( 6 ) GRADING  SCALE - Not having up and down head movement as I mentioned earlier is my only gripe , however I am NOT bothered by this issue. Therefore she gets a Perfect Ten .


( 7 ) FINAL  ANALYSIS - One of the best reasons of owning this figure is that you do not have to be a fan of Ghostbusters to own a Patty Tolan figure . Since Leslie along with Kate Mckinnon are Saturday Night Live regulars, just being a fan of SNL may be enough motivation to make you want to purchase these figures . Or you can just be an action figure fan to love these figures, not being a fan of either SNL or Ghostbusters .