Translate

Monday, July 24, 2017

WWE Mattel Elite 50 Shane McMahon Review !!!

I've been wanting a WWE Mattel figure of Shane McMahon ever since this line started. However it was his young version with the black hair that I wanted a figure of , not this current older looking version with grey hair . I settled for this older version anyway, even though the younger version of himself that I wanted with the black hair has just been recently released . But since this review is about this older looking version that came out first , that is where the emphasis will be . I purchased this figure of Shane McMahon at a local Walgreens for around the $ 19.99 price range .


Shane comes with an announcers desk that you will have to put together, along with the included diorama piece . Now for a look at the figure out of the packaging .




The only thing that I do not like about this figure is that his ankles are kind of loose . They are not very tight and secure. Could just be just my Shane figure though and hopefully not all of them . Other than that one gripe he is perfect . I love the baseball style shirt . Figure looks just like him . Now for a look at the diorama piece .
Above is the diorama piece that comes with this Shane figure . Now for a look at the announcer desk. But first a look at the individual pieces that are needed to put it together .
Above is the top of the announcer's desk. Those two slots you see are where the tv monitors go .
Above is the back of the of the front of the desk .
Above is what the desk looks like underneath . Notice the inserts for the monitors again .
Above is the piece that is the front of the desk .

The above pics are the two pieces that are the sides of the desk . The first pic is how they look underneath and the second is what is displayed on the outside .

Above are the two monitors and the Wrestlemania sign which fits inside two slits on top of the desk. Now for a look at the desk fully assembled and put together .


The above three pics viewing the desk from different angles. I hope for those of you that may have trouble putting it together that my instructions and pics may make it easier for you . The desk is a break away desk so for kids that want to play with it and smash their figures through the table they can if they wish . However if you are like me and want to use it for display purposes only, you may want to " Super Glue or Krazy Glue " it together . Because once it's assembled it is very fragile and can easily fall back apart . It looks great though .
                                                          FINAL   THOUGHTS   

(1)  ARTICULATION - Excellent all around articulation . Even the head can move down a little and upwards too. He does have an ab crunch in case you were wondering .

( 2) STANDING  ABILITY - Despite his ankles being kind of loose, he can still properly stand when positioned correctly on hard surfaces such as wood .

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - Despite the ankle mishap Shane is a pretty cool figure . The announcers table is an excellent bonus accessory .

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE   LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - The loose ankles .

(5)  WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THE  FIGURE ? - Tighten up the loose ankles .

(6) GRADING  SCALE  - Because of the loose ankles, I'll give this figure a 9.8 instead of a Perfect 10 . The loose ankles prevent a perfect score .

(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS - I still plan on keeping this version of Shane McMahon once I purchase the newer younger version with the black hair . I'll just have two Shane figures in my collection . Even though the grey head version is not what I originally wanted , he's still a cool figure so I'll keep it in my collection .

Saturday, July 22, 2017

Batmobile and Alien product ads .

More toy related ads from the Hamilton Collection and The Bradford Exchange . First up is a Batmobile model that is 10 inches long. This I assume is probably big enough to be posed with six-inch scaled figures, however it is difficult to tell from the ad because the ad displays it in a smaller size. There is no mention of articulation, so you will not know rather the doors open or not until you have it in your hands .
Next up is the Alien piece from the Alien franchise that lights up . The Batmobile can be ordered from the Hamilton Collection at www.hamiltoncollection.com and the Alien display can be ordered from The Bradford Exchange at www.bradfordexchange.com/904671 . Both of these ads are from the July 24, 2017 issue of Globe Magazine .

Sunday, July 16, 2017

WWE Mattel - Defining Moments Ric Flair Review !!!

I finally have my first figure of Ric Flair from the WWE Mattel line . This Defining Moments figure of  " The Nature Boy" is based on how Flair looked later in his career, with the shorter hair instead of shoulder length . I think this is his official look when he first came to the WWE . I purchased this figure at a local Walmart , but can't remember the exact amount I paid for it. All I know is that it's under thirty dollars and somewhere in the mid to late twenties price range, because I purchased this figure a few months ago but is just now reviewing it . Defining Moments figures are always more expensive than the the Elite and Basic lines .



The back of the packaging tells of a feud Flair had with Shawn Michaels and their match at WrestleMania XXIV . Now for a look at the figure out of the packaging .



As you can see, the robe is the only accessory that comes with Flair. unless you count his knee pads . More on the robe in a bit, but now on to the figure . I'm not sure the body matches Ric's at that stage of his career, I don't remember him being that muscular like the figure is. However the face sculpt is a perfect match and Mattel did a great job in showing the age in his face . Look closely and you'll see all kinds of wrinkles in his face. From the jowls of his cheekbones to bags under his eyes. Two of his right middle fingers are wrapped in sporting tape, which is nicely done . Plus his initials are on the right side of his trunks. The knee pads are movable and can be removed with some scissors if that is what you wish . Now for a more closer look at the robe .


 The robe is outstanding . It fells and looks like the real thing . Notice the fur around the shoulder areas and at the base . It too feels and looks like the real thing . Now for a look at how to display his famous finishing maneuver , the " figure four leglock", action figure style .
Since the figure four leglock is an " on the mat" maneuver , it is not difficult to display if the legs of the figures can be properly adjusted to imitate the move . Above is my best effort of illustrating the figure four leg lock with Flair and a Sting WWE Mattel figure .
                                                          FINAL  THOUGHTS  

(1) ARTICULATION  -Excellent all around . Only limited point is upward head movement but the figure is so cool that I'm not bothered by it .

(2) STANDING  ABILITY - The figure stands very well without any balance issues .

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - The luxury of finally owning a figure of this Hall of Famer and multi-time world champion alone is a pleasure . I love the robe, how it looks and feels so much like the real thing . Ric's facial sculpt and naturally blond hair are spot on with details resembling the real person . The tape around his right finger tips is nicely done .

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - There's nothing I dislike about it .

(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THE  FIGURE ? - Since Flair is a multi-time world champion, a championship belt or two would have been a nice bonus to be packaged with him . Although accessories literally have nothing to do with the figure itself, a belt would have been a nice bonus .

(6) GRADING  SCALE  - A Perfect 10 . Could find no flaws .

(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS  - Owning this action figure of Ric Flair is good enough to make you say " Woooo" just like the Nature Boy himself .

Friday, June 30, 2017

No winner for the May 2017 Contest . Answer revealed here.

Unfortunately no one one the May 2017 contest. Below is what was shown .
And below is the answer .
WWE Mattel Vickie Guerrero . Good Luck to everyone for the June 2017 Contest !!!

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Avengers Illuminated Table Top Sculptures advertisement .

Even though these sculptures are not toys, however if you are a Marvel Legend fan, or a Marvel fan in general, than you may be interested in these.
These I think are better than ordinary statues . Not only are they works of art, but they illuminate . It would be very cool to won a few of them if not all . Captain America, Iron Man , Thor and Hulk all courtesy of The Bradford Exchange . You can pick up a tabloid to find this ad or go to www.bradfordexchange.com . 

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

June 2017 Contest !!! Win 10 dollars via Paypal !!!

Win 10 dollars for correctly answering the following trivia.
What is the name of the character and what toy line or franchise does it belong ?

You have until July 31,2017 to come up with the correct answers . GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE !!!!

Sunday, June 25, 2017

Marvel Legends - Tombstone Review !!!

Tombstone is another one of those Marvel Legends I have been wanting a figure of since the Toybiz days. However it was his original look that I wanted a figure of, not this version. His original look is with a suit and tie . Even though this current figure is not the version of the character that I wanted, I'll settle for it anyway since it is the character's first time in the line. Finally having a Marvel Legend of Tombstone himself is good enough , even if it's not the version I craved. I purchased this figure of Tombstone at a local Walmart for around the $19.99 price range.



As you can see Tombstone is part of the wave that includes the Vulture's wings . This is the first time ever in Marvel Legends history where the Build-a-figure is an item or accessory instead of an actual person or being . Now for a look at Tombstone out of the packaging along with the build-a-piece accessory .






I love how detailed Tombstone's face is. I love that it has a realistic look as you can see wrinkles in his forehead, etc. if you look closely. Race wise he is supposed to be of Albino origin , as in the comics his skin is always colored white, but the toy here seems to have a little blue skin mixed in with lots of white. He is mainly a Spider-Man villain and is also adversaries with The Daily Bugle Newspaper editor Robbie Robertson . Although this " biker " look of Tombstone is not what I wanted, he looks like he's ready to ride a Harley Davidson rather than fight Spider-Man , he is still a pretty cool figure and I'm satisfied with it. The cuffs around Tombstone's wrists are movable, as also are the ones around his ankles . Also, if you look closely, I'm not sure if there is a mistake with the paint job but it looks like there is a stain on a tooth of his. I'm not bothered by it however just curious as to why it is there . Plus if Hasbro ever re-make the old school look of Luke Cage , I can possibly see the body of this Tombstone figure being re-used for an old school 1970's look Luke Cage. Speaking of looks, below is a pic of Tombstone's original look from the comics .
Above is the Tombstone that I wanted a Marvel Legend of, not this current version . Maybe someday. I hope someone from Hasbro sees this article an give it a thought . As I continue to mention, the version that exists now is cool, but I still want the original suit and tie look in Marvel Legend form .
                                                               FINAL   THOUGHTS 
(1) ARTICULATION - Excellent all around articulation . No limited points.

(2) STANDING  ABILITY - The figure stands well without balance issues once you get him in the proper stance .

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - The facial sculpt is realistically detailed along with his hair and teeth. And the luxury of finally having one of my favorite Spider-Man villains in the collection .

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - I find no flaws with this figure however as I continue to mention the only disappointment is that it's NOT the original look I still crave for.

(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THE  FIGURE ? -  No improvements needed .

(6) GRADING  SCALE - A Perfect 10 as I could find no flaws .

(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS - Now that Tombstone is finally a Marvel Legend , I am hoping that a variant of his original suit and tie look is not far away. The new figure could use the same exact head from this one with a newly sculpted suit and tie body .