Translate

Tuesday, January 2, 2018

STAR WARS BLACK SERIES - General Leia Organa Review !!!

This version of Leia is just a few figures left over from 2017 that I'm reviewing before I get to the 2018 action figures . I purchased this version of the now " GENERAL " Leia at a local Walmart for around the $ 19.99 price range . This is the third Star Wars Black Series of Leia Organa along with my third Leia figure also. The first two figures of Leia she is still a " Princess" but now this older version of her is that of a " General " .



If you're having trouble seeing the dialogue description it says " Despite all that she has endured and lost in a lifetime of war , General Leia Organa continues to shine as a beacon of hope for the loyal soldiers of the resistance under her command . Now let's view the figure out of the packaging .



I think that this is probably my most favorite Star Wars Black Series Leia figure . It seems as if Hasbro put more attention to detail to this version than the others . For example , you can see the aging in Leia's face with the forehead wrinkle, the jowls in her cheeks and the age lines on her neck, since this is an older version of Leia . I think this is a fantastic figure . I could not find anything to complain or gripe about . As you can see she only comes with one accessory, her pistol . Unless you count the vest . She can hold the pistol in either hand however it would be best to put it in her right hand, because there is no trigger finger for the left hand . Not only does her right hand has a trigger finger , but if you look closely you can also see what appears to be an engagement ring on one of the fingers . A nice piece of jewelry symbolizing her marriage to Han Solo . Back to the vest . It is removable . Plus it is made of a soft rubbery plastic, not rubber or real leather .
For some reason the flash from my camera makes the vest look as if it is made out of leather in the above pic, but again it is not . To remove Leia's vest . just pull her arms behind her back as shown , grab the vest at her neck and pull downwards to remove it . To put the vest back on just reverse the process of removing it , with her arms still downward behind her back and pull upwards on the vest to put it back on .

I think she looks great either way, with or without the vest . With out the vest however she kind of remind me of the outfits that people wear when exploring a jungle or going on a safari trip . Now for some comparison shots of this latest version of Leia compared to her previous figures .



I just love the realism with these figures. The previous figures of Leia her age is probably in her twenties, whereas General Leia is probably in her fifties . Leia has come a long way in changing careers, from a royal career as a princess , to becoming a military figure of authority in a general . Which Leia Organa figure do you like best ?  If you missed the review of " SLAVE LEIA " on this website , the link is here - http://actionfigureimagerytoyreviews.blogspot.com/2014/02/star-wars-black-series-series-two.html .   If you missed the review of the " ORIGINAL  PRINCESS  LEIA " - then click on the following  link  -  http://actionfigureimagerytoyreviews.blogspot.com/2017/10/star-wars-black-40th-anniversary-legacy.html .
                                                               FINAL   THOUGHTS   
(1)  ARTICULATION  LIMITS  - Only the upward head movement seems limited . The rest of the articulation is well rounded . She even looks downward really well .

(2) STANDING  ABILITY - The figure stands very well with no balance issues on hard and smooth surfaces .

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - The realism of her face, the attention to details with the wrinkles showing how she has aged . The vest being removable is a nice luxury giving the options to display Leia with or without it . Plus she just looks really cool !!!

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - There's nothing disliked .

(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THIS  FIGURE ? - Upward head movement would be nice however I'm not bothered that she does not have it .

(6) GRADING  SCALE  -  Since I could not find anything I disliked General Leia gets a Perfect 10 !!!

(7)  FINAL  ANALYSIS  -  Since the other two versions of Leia are based on when she was NOT married to Han Solo , it would probably be wise to display this GENERAL Leia figure next to one of your Han Solo figures, just in case you would like a husband and wife display on your shelf .

Monday, January 1, 2018

HAPPY 2018 from Action figure Imagery !!!! A look back at some of Action Figure Man's favorite figures from 2017 !!!

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE !!! This first post of 2018 looks back at some of my most favorite action figures that came out in 2017 . I choose SOME of my most favorites because if I choose ALL of my most favorites the list would be too long , lol . So here are a few of my most favorite figures from last year .
 WWE Mattel Nia Jaxx
 Marvel Legends Tombstone

 Star Wars Black Grand Admiral Thrawn
 Star Wars Black Maz Kanata
 Stanger Things Chief Hopper
Marvel Legends Nebula 
WWE Mattel Berzerker .

Again there are more , this is just a small sampling . HAPPY NEW YEAR AGAIN AND MAY GOD BLESS YOU ALL THROUGHOUT THE YEAR !!!

Sunday, December 31, 2017

CONGRATULATIONS TO BRO MIDNIGHT FOR WINNING THE DECEMBER 2017 CONTEST !!!

For anyone else that was just like me that did not know who the figures were , go to the post before this one and read Bro Midnight's Correct Answers in the Comments section . CONGRATS BRO MIDNIGHT !!!

Saturday, December 30, 2017

DECEMBER 2017 CONTEST !!! WIN 10 DOLLARS VIA PAYPAL !!!

I need your help again identifying certain action figures . Give the names of all of the figures with the WHITE QUESTION MARKS  in the following pictures and the toy line that they are from .Again these pictures belong to Michael Antsberg of Squared Circle Photography , NOT me .  Visit his pages on both Facebook and Instagram .
 Who is the Camera Man and the guy in the audience with the green looking red flowered shirt ???

 Who is the lady Ric Flair is trying to talk to ???
Who is the guy with Triple H ??? That's a total of 4 figures that you must identify . You have until January 31, 2018 to come up with the correct answers. GOOD  LUCK  TO EVERYONE !!!

Thursday, December 28, 2017

Stranger Things - Eleven Review !!! Six inch thru 7 inch Scaled Version .

From the NetFlix series known as " Stranger Things " , here is the McFarlane Toys action figure of the character known as "Eleven" . Not to be confused with the smaller scaled figures that came out earlier in the year, this version of Eleven is in the six inch / seven inch scale . I purchased this figure of Eleven at a local GameStop store at the price of $ 19.99 as you can clearly see on the packaging .


As you can see Eleven comes with a variety of accessories . An eggo waffle , a blond wig , two extra pair of hands with one open palm and closed fist,a figure stand and finally a walkie talkie AKA a CB radio .
As for the face sculpt, I think it is nicely done and I love how realistic looking it is . My only complaint is that I do not like the idea of her looking like a male . It's not the actress that plays her however that looks masculine, just the figure. If you Google "Eleven Stranger Things" there are some pictures that will appear with the actress that plays her looking feminine, even with the short hair . The spot or blemish under her nose should be less visible also . Other than those gripes the face sculpt is near perfect . 
As for the accessories, the wig fits perfectly onto Eleven's head . It slides on and off very easily . The Walkie Talkie can only be held by the right hand that has a peg on it . There's a hole in the back of the radio where the peg in her hand goes, so Eleven can always hold her radio without worry of dropping it . The waffle on the other hand, if you want to display her with it you'll have to use one of the open palm hands and twist the wrist upwards so that the waffle is laying in her hand. The waffle looks the same on both sides and does not have a whole in it . The smaller 3.75 inch Eleven figure not only comes with an Eggo waffle but also an Eggo waffle box . The CB radio is nicely detailed . It's designed just like the real thing with all of the buttons . 
This is the figure stand that every figure of this line will come with .  A clear figure stand without the words may be great if you want to stand your figures without the stand being notable .
Eleven has a hole under her right foot where you can stand her on the figure stand .
As you can see Eleven's wig is a perfect fit. 

I don't know if it's just me, but even with the wig on Eleven still looks kind of masculine . However she does look feminine when you view her from side views with the wig on , compared to facing the camera with it on . 
As you can see this version of Eleven is just a tad over five inches tall and a tad under six inches tall . Eleven's dress is nicely detailed with the dirty stains. Now I'm not saying that a piece of dirty clothing looks good by no means, I am referring to the " REALISM " added to the figure by wearing a dirty stained dress . The shoes and socks also look like they may be a little dingy , however when it comes to toys this is a good thing because of the realism . Also look real closely and you can also see the wrinkles and creases in her jacket . Even more realism .
Above a pic of Eleven holding the radio . The arm can easily be posed where you can display her as if she's talking into it or listening to it . Back to Eleven's blond wig , you can also use it on other action figures in the same size scale as evidence is below with The DC Comics Multiverse prisoner Lex Luthor figure .



As you can see the wig fits really well onto Lex . Although it's less snug on his head than hers. Seeing these pics may want many customizers to purchase some extra Lex Luthor prisoner figures, so they can pretend to have different prisoner characters. Especially if they decide to purchase extra Eleven 's just for the wigs and color the wigs different colors for each Luthor figure . I even posted comparison shots of Luthor with and without the hair , so that you can decide if it's a good idea or not to purchase extra Lex figures or extra Elevens because of this . Also in the comparison pic below of Eleven and Lex side by side , Lex in my opinion still looks like a man despite the feminine hair style . As a matter of fact, I do not even think that the hair itself looks feminine on him . It just looks like an ordinary guy with a lot of hair but still looks masculine . 
                                                             FINAL    THOUGHTS   
(1) ARTICULATION  LIMITS  -  No ab crunch . The hard plastic dress makes it difficult to move the legs outward . A very small amount of downward head movement with no upward head movement .

(2) STANDING  ABILITY  - The figure stands well on smooth wooden surfaces without the foot stand . On rougher less smoother surfaces the foot stand may be needed .

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - The blond wig is great for customizing bald figures in similar scale to Eleven , such as Lex in the pictures above . I love the accessories, her walkie talkie/cb and waffle are the best . The figure comes in handy as a civilian character such as toy photography which includes people in an audience such as a wrestling match, etc .

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - The hard dress restricts outward leg movement . I hate that she still kind of looks like a guy, even with the wig on . Don't like the scar/ blemish under her nose, over her upper lip .

(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THE  FIGURE ? - Make the dress out of a soft rubbery plastic instead of the hard plastic that it consists of . Give her a more feminine look .

(6) GRADING  SCALE - This figure gets a minus for the hard dress restricting leg movement , and two other minuses for my other dislikes, the blemish under her nose and the manly face . I say an even 9.0 is nice. Still a very cool figure otherwise .

(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS - Great job McFarlane Toys on these Stranger Things figures . Keep up the good work !!!

Wednesday, December 27, 2017

Stranger Things - Chief Hopper Review !!!

From McFarlane Toys based on the NetFlix series known as " Stranger Things" , here is Chief Hopper .I purchased this figure of Chief Hopper at a local Game Stop for the listed price of $ 19.99 .



Above Chief Hopper is pictured with his two accessories , the coffee mug in his left hand and his pistol in his right hand . This is really a great action figure . Good realistic facial sculpt and realistic features. You can even see somewhat of a "pot belly" inside of his shirt .
As you can see Hopper is a tall figure measuring in at seven inches . However he may be just a little shorter than that if not for the hat . Without the hat he might end up being just a little over six inches tall and a tad under seven inches . The Figure Stand is not a major factor in measuring the height. He still measures at seven inches tall even without the figure stand .
Look closely and you can see the words " Hopper" on the tag on the right side of his shirt . Also nice attention to detail with the ball point pen inside of his left shirt pocket , and if you look closely you can see the words " Hawkins Police" on his badge . I also love how his facial hair looks as if it has been trimmed with an electric shaver . Excellent job by the sculptors and designers .
On the left side of his shoulder Chief Hopper has his patch which says " Hawkins Police " .
Chief Hopper shows his patriotism with an emblem of the United States flag embedded onto his right sleeve . You can easily tell that the flag has all fifty stars on it too, however it would hurt your eyes probably just like mine unless you use a magnifying glass to see them or a super good camera with an excellent zoom-in feature . Plus I love the realism of how his beard is trimmed on both sides of his face . You can even see peach fuzz among the facial hair . Very nice attention to detail .
As for the accessories, there's not much to say about the coffee mug other than it does look nice and realistic, but is basic with no decals or decorations on it . The pistol however is very well done. All of the features are nicely realistically done with the revolver and the trigger . Also it fits perfectly into
his right hand and inside of his holster . Hopper's right hand has a trigger finger that is perfect for holding the gun .
This is the figure stand that comes with the Stranger Things figures . Only one peg on each one  which makes sense for kicking or running poses . Now for some comparison shots comparing Chief Hopper to various six inch scaled figures from different lines . 
Above Chief Hopper standing next to a Buffy the Vampire Slayer " Wesley " figure .
Above Chief Hopper standing next to a WWE Mattel Chad Gable figure . Now if he was standing next to someone like a Kane figure, or Undertaker or Big Show, Hopper would be even height with those figures .
Final comparison with six inch figures, here's Chief Hopper alongside a figure that matches his   profession and career , the prison suit version of Lex Luthor from the DC Comics Multiverse line . Just imagine the creative ideas you can create with toy photographer photos with these two . You could have Hopper arrest Lex, put him in a squad car , lock him in a prison cell etc .
                                                                FINAL    THOUGHTS  
(1) ARTICULATION  LIMITS  - Besides no ab crunch , Hopper has limited downward head movement with no upward head movement .

(2) STANDING  ABILITY  -  He stands very well without his figure stand on smooth surfaces but will need the stand on rugged surfaces that may be bumpy. If you need to stand him on paper he will need the stand. Hopper being flat footed with no heels helps his balance also .

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ?  - I love the realism of the attention to details . Being able to see the words on his badges, along with the realistic facial structure . He is a fun figure to display and pose . I love his accessories being the pistol and coffee mug . I love how cool looking and realistic looking this action figure is . Also I love the fact that even though he is more in line as a seven inch scale figure , he fits in very well with six inch scale figures and does not look out of place .

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - There's nothing disliked .

(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THIS  FIGURE ? - Make the hat removable , although it not being removable does not bother me , however a removable hat would be a nice bonus .

(6) GRADING  SCALE  - Since there's nothing that I dislike about this figure I give it a Perfect 10 .

(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS - Chief Hopper has quickly become one of my most favorite action figures in my collection . I highly recommend this figure for your collection too .