Translate

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

JURASSIC PARK - Amber Collection Dr. Ian Malcolm Review !!!

I have been wanting to add this figure to my collection ever since I first saw pictures of it online . Now he's finally here. I purchased this figure of  Dr. Ian Malcolm at a local Game Stop for the price of $ 24.99 .






Dr. Malcolm's bio reads - An expert in Chaos Theory, Dr. Ian Malcolm is one of the few original visitors to Jurassic Park . While he often uses humor and sarcasm, he has a deep understanding and respect for the power of nature and knows that " Life...Uh...Finds a way."

Dr. Ian Malcolm is a great figure . A perfect likeness to the Jurassic Park actor portraying the character . The action figure looks great and feels great too in your hands . He is made out of a nice hard sturdy plastic . No loose joints, tight joints which is a good thing . I love the detail in his watch, if you have a magnifying glass you could probably see the numbers .
An up close shot of Dr. Malcolm .  There are not that many action figures in any scale with tinted glasses / shades . So Ian having tinted glasses makes him unique in a way . There are many figures that come with shades, however you can not see their eyes behind the shades . Look closely and you'll see Dr. Malcolm's eyes behind his tinted glasses . A very cool realistic effect as if he is actually wearing real tinted glasses . Nice job on the glasses Mattel . It would be nice if his neck wear was an actual movable item however it looks good sculpted onto him .
As you can see Dr. Malcolm is a little over six inches tall.
The burning stick accessory . It looks much better in person than it does in the above picture . In the above pic it looks like cotton candy and not fire . In other words it looks as if he's holding cotton candy on a stick rather than fire . However in person it does resemble a ball of fire more .
A look under Dr. Malcolm's glasses so that you can see his eyes . The glasses can be removed if you wish by lifting his sideburns. The glasses are inserted into slits on the side of his head and his sideburns keep the glasses in place .
Above the accessories the Dr. comes with . Out of all of them the clear glass of water is my favorite . My camera just does not do the looks of these accessories justice . They look way better in person than in the above pic . The glass even has where it looks as if there is actually clear drinking water inside of it . The extra hands are okay however I like both of his right hands the best because of the ring. I like the look of the ring with the light blue oval piece. I think the yellow piece is fossilized dinosaur waste .
The fossil accessory as you can see has foot stand pegs for your Dr. Ian Malcolm figure, or anyone else that may have holes at the bottom of their heels .
                                                   FINAL    THOUGHTS  

( 1 )  ARTICULATION  LIMITS  -  With the exception of limited up and down head movement , the rest of the articulation is well rounded . Similar to that of a Marvel Legend .

(2)  STANDING  ABILITY  - No need for a figure stand even though he comes with one disguised as an accessory , Dr. Malcolm stands well with no balance issues .

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THE  FIGURE  ? - Perfect likeness to the actor and his tinted glasses . Also the clear glass of water is a favorite accessory of mine not only of this line but any six inch scaled accessories from other lines.

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - No dislikes .

(5) WHAT  COULD  BE  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THE  FIGURE  ? - No improvements needed .

(6)  GRADING  SCALE  - A Perfect 10 no flaws could be found .

(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS  -  Dear Mattel, great job on Dr. Ian Malcolm but can we please see the rest of the human cast members of the original Jurassic Park to join the good doctor in action figure form?

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Happy Halloween !!! No winner for the September 2019 Contest .

Unfortunately no one won the September 2019 Contest . Below is what was shown .

Below are the answers.

WWE Mattel Elites of Kain and Charlotte Flair . GOOD LUCK TO AL IN THE OCTOBER 2019 CONTEST !!!   HAPPY  HALLOWEEN  !!!

Tuesday, October 29, 2019

OCTOBER 2019 CONTEST !!! WIN 10 DOLLARS VIA PAYPAL !!!!

Name the figure and toy line
Contest expires November 30, 2019 .GOOD  LUCK  TO  ALL !!!

Saturday, October 26, 2019

OVERWATCH ULTIMATES - Zarya Review !!!

This is the six inch scaled version by Hasbro  of the OverWatch Zarya character . I purchased this figure at a local Walgreens for around the $ 19.99 price range . Zarya however is not my first ever OverWatch action figure . That mention belongs to the character known as Tracer, although it is NOT the same Tracer figure from this Hasbro Ultimates line . The Tracer figure I'm referring to is the one done by Figma . Plus I reviewed that figure here on the site and in case you missed the review the following is the link to it ----- https://actionfigureimagerytoyreviews.blogspot.com/2018/11/figma-tracer-overwatch-review.html .



Quite a few vital stats are missing from her card back . No height or weight . However her full name is Aleksandra Zaryanova . Notice that a portion of her real last name is used for her code name . ZARYAnova . Her age is listed as 38 . Her occupation says soldier and that her affiliation is called Russian Defense Forces . It would also be very cool if the blue crystal ball like item on her weapon could glow in the dark like the packaging  art work .
Of all of Zarya's accessories , I think I like her gun the best . Trying to get her to hold it properly in either hand without it falling out can be challenging though . The other items are a pair of extra hands/fists along with a blue laser beam effect meant for her weapon .

I do not know anything about this character however I love the beautiful colors of her armor and hair .  Light blue is one of my most favorite colors anyway so I love her blue battle armor . Along with the armor the pink hair makes her a very colorful figure . As you can see she is much bigger than the average woman , with her arms being the size of most guys, or even bigger than a majority of guys' arms.  I also love all four pairs of Zarya's hands . All four of her hands look as if they can be great for boxing or punching poses . Both her default hands along with the extra hands can allow some great punching poses .
For some reason the upper torso portion of her armor reminds me the look of a deep sea diver . Seems as if all she need is a clear oval helmet to complete the look of a deep sea diver . I'm not complaining however this still looks great .
As for articulation Zarya has excellent all around articulation similar to that of a Marvel Legend . I also love the fact that her armor is made of a harder plastic than the face and arms, giving the realistic impression of steel / iron being harder than human flesh . Zarya's belt is movable .
A closeup of Zarya's face . Notice her green eyes with black pupils. Even though her face is not realistic design wise however her skin texture is . Notice the scar above her right eye, or is it even a scar at all ? It could be some type of war makeup .
As you can see Zarya has a tattoo on her left shoulder . The tattoo appears to be the numbers 512 .
One could wonder how can she run fast with even her lower ankles covered in thick battle armor .


As you can see Zarya is almost seven inches tall .  However I'm pretty sure that the armored boots are giving her the extra inches in height . If not for the armored suit, she would probably be much shorter than this . The same way that Tony Stark's Iron Man suits give him extra height of Marvel fame, the same can be said too for Zarya .
My favorite feature of Zarya's weapon is the blue crystal ball like item . I assume that it is the energy source of her weapon . If you put a bright light behind it like a flash light , in my opinion makes the round blue object even cooler looking .
A closeup of the extra hands / fists  .
I think the biggest luxury of the blue laser bolt effect piece is it's long range . The above pic demonstrates the range . The range is perfect if you want to display Zarya as if she is shooting at enemy planes or any type of air craft . You can display her shooting straight forward too but the pose is awkward to pull off due to the possibility of the gun slipping from her grasp .
                                                             FINAL   THOUGHTS  

(1)  ARTICULATION   LIMITS  -   Zarya has excellent all around articulation . The only limit seems to be a lack of ab crunch , however an ab crunch is not necessary or needed. She is fine without one.

(2) STANDING  ABILITY  -   Due to her armored boots , Zarya stands extremely well and you do not have to worry about her falling down at all . She stands well on any surface . She deserves a Perfect ten in this category .

(3)  WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE  ? -  The beautiful vibrant colors . How well she stands . The armor being made of harder plastic than the flesh . The crystal ball shaped power source inside of her weapon . And finally the shooting range of the laser effect piece .

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE  ? -  Trying to get Zarya to properly hold her weapon is challenging .

(5) WHAT  COULD  BE  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THE  FIGURE  ?  - Make it easier for her to hold her weapon .

(6) GRADING  SCALE  -  If I was judging the figure only I'd give Zarya a Perfect Ten . However I'm also judging a feature , which is her ability to hold her gun, or in this case almost a lack of ability to hold it . Because of this only gripe I think an overall score of  9.8 is fair .

(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS  -   It'd be great if the popularity of the OverWatch video game franchise spreads on over to the action figures, so that Hasbro can keep on bringing us these OverWatch Ultimates figures .

Sunday, October 20, 2019

Maven Collectibles 1/12 Scale female blank body and accessories Review !!!

For those whom may not know , Maven Collectibles is an independent online toy company that specializes in making blank female and male bodies for customization among other things . This post takes a look at their six inch scaled athletic female blank body . The blank bodies and the accessories are in separate packages, they do not come together . The blank body comes by itself and the default head is hair less. The hair pieces come separate in the accessories pack . At the time of this writing you can purchase one or more of these figures following this E-bay link --------https://www.ebay.com/itm/Maven-Collectibles-Superheroine-1-12-ATHLETIC-Marvel-Legends-Female-Loose-Figure/153646252770?hash=item23c607c2e2:g:s7UAAOSwn2ldgM9i . 
 As you can see you can get you one for $21.50 with free shipping on E-bay . Then once received in the mail you have the freedom of transforming this figure into any female character that you choose, or leave it as it is . It's up to you and that alone is a luxury in itself .

 These figures have Marvel Legend like articulation . If you acquire the accessories then you will have the luxury of all types of multiple display options . Anywhere from six different hairstyles and multiple hand gestures .
 As you can see the figure stands right at an even six inches tall .
 Above is a pic of the exact same figure wearing one of the hair pieces from the accessory pack . The hair pieces can be inserted into a slot on top of the figure's head .
 Above is a look at everything you'll receive in the accessories pack . Also here is an E-Bay link to the Accessory pack -------   https://www.ebay.com/itm/Superheroine-1-12-Figure-Acessories-Pack-Loose-Marvel-Legends-Female-Action-Toy/153670975140?hash=item23c780fea4:g:JEoAAOSwzJ9dgPd3
 Above the six different hairstyles you can use for the figure . As you can see there are two short hair pieces and four long ones .
 Five different head sculpts with different expressions . If you count the default head on the figure that makes six different head sculpt options combined .
 Ten hands. Make that twelve if you count the default ones on the figure .
 The above weapons are the only weapons available in the accessory pack . A pistol and a knife .
 If you want a barefoot female character , the feet above will do .  Overall I like the blank female body and the accessory pack mainly because they give everyone the options to make custom made action figures, and not just customizers .

Friday, October 18, 2019

Another toy article from the National Examiner !!! Female toy soldiers in the works !!!

This article is from the exact same issue as the last post . I'm sure everyone is familiar with those little green army men . Now this is an article about little green army women . Enjoy .