Translate

Thursday, April 26, 2018

WWE Mattel Nia Jax Figure Comparisons !!!

I recently purchased my second figure of Nia Jax about a month ago at a local Walmart . I will not be reviewing her because I reviewed her first figure, which is basically the same mold with the exception of the hair. The rest is just a new paint job . Plus this post is strictly a " COMPARISON POST " and not a review post . Here is the link to a review of her first figure - http://actionfigureimagerytoyreviews.blogspot.com/2017/08/wwe-mattel-nia-jax-review.html .
Below are the pics of the newer Jax packaged and compared to the older figure .





I like the Nia Jax figure so much I just gave in ad bought it. I usually don't purchase repaints of the same character but in Nia Jax's case I made an exception .

Monday, April 23, 2018

Geico Infinity War Promotion Commercial !!! MARVEL LEGENDS used in the commercial ???

I was watching the NBA Playoffs and caught this commercial .  Right after I saw this commercial I looked for it on YouTube and here is the link to that commercial via Youtube -  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PGRF7honCns .
Thanks to Geico , not only is this commercial promoting the Avengers Infinity War Movie, but it could help increase more exposure to Marvel Legends , according to this screen cap I took with my camera .
Those definitely look like Marvel Legends to me . A fun commercial by the way !!!

Sunday, April 22, 2018

STAR WARS BLACK SERIES - Supreme Leader Snoke ( Throne Room ) Review !!!

There are two ways you can add a six inch scaled Snoke figure to your collection . If you prefer you can purchase him individually on his own without the throne . Or spend and extra twenty bucks and add to your collection of what you see here . I purchased the Throne Room Snoke set at a local Game Stop for around the $ 39.99 price range .




If you're having difficulty seeing the dialogue in the bio , it says " The shadowy commander of the First Order , Supreme Leader Snoke prefers to operate from a distance, looming over his underlings in the form of an immense hologram. As the First Order rallies, this master of the Dark Side emerges from the shadows to seize victory . "
Once everything is removed out of the packaging , above is how everything is set up. The foot stool on the left hand side easily attaches to the slot where Snoke rests his feet.

As you can see Supreme Leader Snoke stands at around seven inches tall .



Once you remove the Snoke action figure from the packaging, I must admit that he is indeed a very interesting looking character . From far away he just looks like a normal bald old guy in a yellowish gold  bathrobe  with slippers . However when viewing him closely, his grotesque looks may make you wonder about his back story, his origin, especially his face and neck. He looks like a living decaying mummy, with deep scars on his forehead and on the back of his head . It makes you wonder what happened to him . Was he in a war where some kind of chemical warfare did this to him, such as acid ? Or something else . Other things that are interesting about Snoke is his attire.The robe and shoes look normal from a distance, but when viewing closer the robe looks really cool with gold glitter that reflects light well, and the shoes are golden with nice decorations on them .  His left index finger is supporting a black ring that pokes out, and I'm not sure what to say about his white outfit underneath . The golden belt can be removed and snaps back together . The robe can too if you have some scissors, because it seems to be attached to his lower neck area .Despite Snoke being a very grotesque looking character, the action figure is cool looking and is detailed very well .  Now on to his throne .



I think I may love the throne almost as much as I do the figure itself . Nice job by Hasbro on all sides of it, from the front and back to the sides. The back is detailed very nicely with the circuitry . Plus this throne can be displayed with other figures from other toy lines, such as a Filmation Hordak figure from Masters of the Universe Classics. If you are aware of the old She-Ra cartoon from the 1980s, which I'm sure many of you are, than you'll remember that Hordak sat on a throne similar in looks to this one.
As great looking the throne is by it's lonesome, it does not look complete without it's rightful owner sitting on it .
As you can see the display looks even better when the diorama piece is in the background, giving that feeling of a complete look. It's almost like owning half of a movie set in you're room or wherever you display your collection . This background is very cool looking and it also reminds me of the background used for Hordak's throne room in the She-Ra cartoon .
Supreme Leader Snoke being guarded by one of his Praetorian guards ( figure sold separately ) .
When not in use, keeping the cardboard diorama background piece inside of the box would be a nice idea . This is one box you do not want to trash because of this reason .
          In the above height comparison pic you can see that Snoke is very tall . He even towers over Vader . Sitting down in his chair makes him look just like a normal size guy, however when he stands  he has basketball player height .
                                                       FINAL   THOUGHTS 
(1)  ARTICULATION  LIMITS  - No ab crunch however there's articulation under his chest .

(2) STANDING   ABILITY - Even though this figure was not meant for standing, it's kind of hard to get him to stand anyway without falling , because of his skinny legs despite being flat footed with no heels . However he does stand well once you get him balanced properly .

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? It's not just the figure, it's the complete whole toy set itself that makes this toy a fun purchase . Everything from the figure itself, along with his throne and the diorama background insert for the throne makes the whole set a pleasure to have in the collection .

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - Nothing disliked

(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THIS  FIGURE ? -No improvements needed .

(6) GRADING  SCALE -  With a combination of the three items the diorama background , the throne and the figure itself a Perfect Ten !!! With the figure only a 9.8 is decent . Not a Perfect 10 because of the difficulty of trying to make him stand without falling, even though he is not meant to stand .

(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS -  Hasbro's on a roll making the figures of the " bad guy leaders" of the Star Wars franchise . There're now figures of Darth Vader, Emperor Palpatine, Jabba the Hut and now Supreme Leader Snoke .

Sunday, April 8, 2018

WWE MATTEL - Mean Gene Okerlund Review !!! WWE Flashback Series !!!

This is not the first WWE Mattel figure of Mean Gene , the first WWE Mattel Okerlund figure was a build-a-figure , compared to this one being a regular figure . However if you look up pictures of the original Build-a-figure Okerlund , I do believe that this Gene figure is the exact same figure as that one, with the only differences being is that one is a regular figure and the other is not . I purchased this figure of mean Gene at a local Walmart for around the $ 19.99 price range .
I just love the bright vivid light blue and red colors of the packaging. I love how colorful the packaging is, very neat and cool looking .



As you can see Gene comes with quite a few accessories . A light stand accessory that is used to provide light for the television cameras, an old school WWE microphone along with extra arms and red jacket torso piece. The light accessory itself is part of the " build an interview set" mentioned on the packaging that is a part of this series.

Gene is listed at 5"9 , so his figure should have been shorter than six inches tall, since six inch scaled figures are normally in scale with actual heights of real people .  Speaking of height, that is my only complaint about this Mean Gene figure . He's just a little bit too tall, other than that he's perfect .
I love the details that Mattel used in Gene's facial sculpt . All of the realistic details are there . A double chin, jowls around his jaw line, wrinkles in his forehead, etc. He even has the bald spot which looks like a comb over may have taken place.
The above accessory is a piece that is a part of the Summerslam 1989 interview set .
This is the backdrop that you see behind Gene in the packaging . Many people may throw it away and trash it, but this is one backdrop card I would not trash, and the reasons why are shown below .


The first two figures I wanted to display Mean Gene with the most were Hulk Hogan and Bobby" the brain" Heenan . The reason why is because some of Gene's most memorable moments in the WWE franchise are with those two . As you can see the blue backdrop behind him in the packaging can be used as a background that is perfect for interview scenes . Plus with the logo posted all over it, gives any interview scene a professional look and feel .
Now on to changing Gene into his red jacket . All you have to do is slowly pull out the default arms , and pull upwards on the vest like piece as shown above to remove it .
Now that that's done , reverse the process by pulling the red vest piece downward over his head, and snap in the red arm pieces .
After those steps, here he is in the red jacket instead of the default blue one .
I'm not sure which look I like the best, the default look or the red jacket look. They both look great however the red does matches better with his tie since the tie and jacket are the same color . Plus seeing Mean Gene in the red jacket  reminded me of a very famous children's programming actor . 
Does Gene remind you of KAPTAIN  KANGAROO anyone ??? All Gene is missing are the white stripes to perfectly match the Kaptain's design .  

The above pic is evidence and proof about my statement of Gene being just a little bit too tall . When you Google Gene, he's listed at 5"9 . Hogan was listed at 6"8 as a wrestler, yet when comparing the two figures side by side the height differential is not that much . So Mattel just needs to get back on track with everyone's heights . Other than that mishap everything else is fine .
                                                             FINAL    THOUGHTS   
(1) ARTICULATION  LIMITS  - No limitations. Even though he can't move his head all the way up or down, but his head can move downwards and upwards a little .

(2) STANDING  ABILITY  - The figure stands fine without balance issues .

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE  ? The luxury of finally owning a Mean Gene figure in the collection is good enough . However I love the options of displaying him in different colored jackets, making him a very fun toy to own for both adult and kid collectors .

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? -  He is a little bit too tall . Should have been just a little shorter to match the real Gene's actual height .

(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THE  FIGURE ? - Make him a little shorter .

(6) GRADING  SCALE -  For the first time in the history of this blog, I am not sure what score to give . I'll explain . If  I was seriously bothered by the height being a little too much, I'd give this figure a score of 9.9 . He gets a Perfect 10 if I'm not bothered by the height . So the situation is sometimes the height problem bothers me and sometimes it does not . Even though he is too close to Hogan in height, at least Hogan is still taller than him like he is in real life, which is what really matters . However it becomes bothersome when standing Gene to someone that's supposed to be 6"3, yet Okerlund is at eye level in height with that figure .

(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS  - This is a very fun figure to own in your collection because of the accessories and the luxury of changing attire . I think kids will enjoy this figure just because of the suit exchange feature, I can just imagine the little ones having a blast interchanging the arms, etc .  Plus old school WWE fans would be pleased to own this figure if they collect action figures .

Saturday, March 31, 2018

NO winner for the February 2018 Contest . Plus HAPPY EASTER !!!!

Unfortunately no one won the February 2018 Contest . Below is what was shown .

Below are the answers .

WWE Mattel Natalya  and Marvel Legends Blade . Since the March 2018 Contest has already been won, GOOD LUCK to everyone in the April 2018 Contest !!!