Translate

Sunday, May 19, 2019

MARVEL LEGENDS - Ebony Maw Review !!!

Based on the hit Marvel movies of Avengers Infinity Wars and End Game comes one of Thanos' members of his Black Order , Ebony Maw . I purchased this figure of Ebony Maw at a local Walmart for around the $ 19.99 price range .



If you can not clearly see the bio it says " The dangerous assassin Ebony Maw puts his powers of persuasion into sinister use in service of the evil Thanos . "
As you can see Maw comes with the left leg of the Thanos build-a-figure, based on his Avengers End Game attire .

Not only am I glad to see another member of Thanos ' Black Order in action figure form but I also like this figure a lot  and is very pleased with it . The figure is fun to pose and I like his long arms . Plus he's a cool looking character with a cool looking uniform . I love the mixture of colors with the different shades of grey along with the gold trimmings .
As you can see Ebony Maw is a tall figure, standing right around seven inches in height.
I do indeed find it interesting that the character has no nose or nostrils. This statement however is more about the actual character himself and not about the toy . It makes you wonder " how does he breathe " . ? Does he have hidden gills somewhere on his body, like a fish ?
Maw has a unique hair style. As you can see no hair on the top or sides but a lot of hair on the back of his head.

Ebony Maw has one of the longest arms of any Marvel character or figure . The above pic showing a wingspan of about eight inches . So if he was a real being I assume his wingspan would be about eight feet . He has basketball player like arms . Big hands too to go along with his long arms .
                                                        FINAL  THOUGHTS  

(1) ARTICULATION  LIMITS - Upward and downward head movement is somewhat hindered with a lack of slits in both the front and back of his neck . Other than that excellent all around articulation.

(2) STANDING  ABILITY - Maw stands great once you position his stance properly . However he can fall over because of his thin ankles .

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - The luxury of having another member of Thanos Black Order in Marvel Legend form . His long basketball player like arms are fun to bend  and display .

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - No dislikes.

(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THIS  FIGURE ? - No improvements needed .

(6) GRADING  SCALE - On a scale of 1 to 10 a Perfect 10 . Could not find any flaws that bothered me.

(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS - Hasbro is doing a better job on the movie based figures in my opinion than they are on the comic based versions. Maw is a perfect example .

Saturday, May 11, 2019

Tuesday, April 30, 2019

No winner for the March 2019 contest.

Unfortunately no one won the March 2019 contest . Below is what was shown.

Above is the answer. Marvel Legends Mockingbird . GOOD LUCK IN THE NEXT CONTEST !!!

Monday, April 29, 2019

April 2019 Contest !!! Win 10 Dollars via PayPal !!!

Guess the correct figures and franchises, toy lines .

Contest ends May 31, 2019 . GOOD  LUCK  TO  ALL !!!

Sunday, April 28, 2019

Friday, April 26, 2019

Vintage toys that could be worth some good money for you !!!

The following link is an article from the website Editorchoice.com . A December 2018 article explaining that if you own any of the toys in the article and how much they may be worth . The article is a slide show so click on the word " next" at the bottom of each review to go to the next review. Here's the link - https://www.editorchoice.com/vintage-toys/?utm_source=zemanta&cid=591390&_z1_adgid=591390&_z1_msid=b1_outbrainrtb&_z1_pub=nypost%2Ecom&_z1_caid=8526886&_z1_adgid=591390&_z1_caid=8526886&_z1_msid=b1_outbrainrtb&_z1_pub=nypost%2Ecom&_z1_tg=lamplighter  .

Tuesday, April 23, 2019

Marvel Legends Nick Fury Review !!! Based on the Captain Marvel movie .

This version of Nick Fury as many of you know is based on the recently released Captain Marvel movie . A younger version of Nick , before the accident that cost him his left eye,etc . I have been looking forward to this figure since it was announced as I purchased it at a local Walmart for around the $ 19.99 price range .



If you're having difficulty seeing the bio it says " In the years following the Cold War , Nick Fury wrestles with his sense of purpose with S.H.I.E.L.D . When Nick crosses paths with Captain Marvel, they become Earth's only hope of stopping a Skrull invasion . "

As you can see Nick comes with three accessories. His pistol , Captain Marvel's cat all handcuffed and the right arm of the build-a-figure Kree Sentry .
A closer shot of the cat .
This figure actually looks more cooler looking in person than it does on camera . His face is very detailed with jowls and wrinkles. Either I need to get a new camera or I must learn how to take better pictures , I'm all in for constructive criticism . Back to the figure, Nick is also a new body mold and is not a re-use of previous suit and tie figures . Evidence coming later in this review . Underneath Fury's jacket are what looks to be two holsters for his guns . The tie is bendable .
I love the realistic face sculpt and accurate likeness to Samuel L . Jackson . The only thing that Hasbro messed up on is noticeable in the above pic . It's his hair . The sculpt of the hair is fine along with the details such as curls or waves in his hair . I'm referring to the paint job on the hair . Look closely and you'll notice that pieces of the hair have been colored the same as his skin. From far away this mistake may not be noticeable but up close you can see the brown paint on his hair. Great figure Hasbro but the paint job must have better craftsmanship next time .
A comparison shot of the younger Nick Fury to the older version of himself . Hasbro has come a long way since that older version was made .
This current Nick Fury figure would make a perfect custom made Robbie Robertson . From the Spider-Man franchise, assistant to Peter Parker's boss at the Daily Bugle J. Jonah Jameson . The hairstyle of both men is almost exactly the same, you would just have to make Nick's hair into a white like grey , and alter or modify the face just a little , all of a sudden you have a custom Robbie Robertson . Another thing Hasbro could have done is packaged a Robbie Robertson head with Nick Fury. Fans could then decide rather they want to use the body for Nick or Mr. Robertson . Or buy two Nick Furys if they want both characters . Another similarity is that both men wear their ties untied . So Nick should make an easy Robbie custom .
As you can see Nick is NOT a reused mold of the Chameleon or any suit and tie figure . The above pic proves he is his own figure with his own mold . Not only is Fury taller than the other two guys, but the untied tie is also evidence of the figures not being the same mold .
                                                  FINAL   THOUGHTS  
(1) ARTICULATION  LIMITS  -  Excellent all around articulation .

(2) STANDING  ABILITY  -  Stands well once positioned correctly .

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE  -  The perfect realistic likeness to Samuel L . Jackson. Having another suit and tie figure in the collection is also great for civilian characters when taking toy photography pics. I also love the idea that he can easily be converted into Robbie Robertson . Although I'm not good at customizing figures, but if I was I would have purchased two Nick Furys to make a Robbie Robertson .

( 4 ) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - The paint from his face got into his hair . A better paint job must be done next time on the hair and face separation .

(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THIS  FIGURE ? - The aforementioned paint job on the hair . Plus a bonus extra Robbie Robertson head would have been nice .

(6) GRADING  SCALE  - A 9.8 instead of a Perfect Ten . The paint job on the hair gripe kept me from giving this figure a Perfect Ten .

(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS - Besides a custom made Robbie Robertson , customizers could also use this Nick Fury figure to re-create Samuel L. Jackson's character from the first Jurassic Park movie . Again great job Hasbro just do better next time with the paint job around the lining of a character's hair .