Translate

Wednesday, August 15, 2018

Action Figure Man's TOY WISH LIST !!!

Even though I'm a fan of action figures just like you all, I'm also missing some rare toys and figures that I would like to add to my collection . Some are hard to find or super expensive. In most cases a combination of both . Here are three toys , one is a play set and the other two are action figures that I do not have in my collection at the time of writing this post . First up the Eternia Playset .



These pictures are from a Comic Book Convention I attended a back in 2016 . I forgot how much the guys at the booth wanted for it I just remember I did not have the funds at the time . They were however nice enough to let me take pictures . I even did a review of this trip and in case you missed it here's the link ---  http://actionfigureimagerytoyreviews.blogspot.com/2016/10/memphis-comic-expo-2016-toy-pictures.html . Now for the action figures on my wish list .

The James Harden NBA Heroes figure is very difficult to find, and the Dragon Man Marvel Legends figure is not that difficult to find, however it is difficult to find him at a decent price. He is very expensive because of his rareness . Last two pics courtesy of various sites and NOT me of course . There's more action figures I would like to have in my collection but these are among my top three most wanted toys for now.

Sunday, August 5, 2018

Flea Market and Thrift Store Finds - Part 7 !!!

The first of this series in two years. The last " Flea Market and Thrift Store finds" post was back in 2016 . These latest pickups I purchased were on August 4, 2018 from a local thrift store . Some nice items for very low nice prices . Three wrestling figures in the six inch scale, a motorized seven inch scale robot and an old Batmobile . At the end of this article links are posted to the first six posts of this series . Now on to the most recent finds .
 First up is a look at an old school Mattel Batmobile . I left the $ 1.98 price tag on it on purpose to remind everyone that this is indeed a thrift store purchase and NOT an E-bay find, etc . That's the luxury of thrift stores, you may never know what you may find at discounted prices !!! I looked all over this Batmobile and could not find the year , To me it looks like something out of the 1990s. Plus it looks like it is based on the Batman movie from 1989, starring Michael Keaton as Batman .

 Press your fingers against the hood to activate the battering ram feature .
 Since this is Batman's car, it makes since to put any Batman figure behind the wheel . That's a DC Superheroes Batman sitting there . The problem is trying to make the cape fit in with him, since most of the capes on just about all of the recent Batman figures over the years are made of a hard rubbery plastic . So because of this I tried a NON - Caped figure such as Aqua-Man .

 As you can see non-caped six inch scaled figures fit really well into the vehicle . That is a DCU Classics Aqua-Man, and as you can see I tried to pose him in a turning motion, making it seem as if he's turning the car . Plus you can make the open hands fit really well around the steering wheel handles, giving the illusion that he really is driving . So the good news is that this Batmobile does fit in scale with today's modern day six inch scaled figure . My only complaint about this Batmobile is that it does not look realistic, it does not look like a real car. It actually looks like what it actually is, a toy and not real . Other than that gripe it is a nice toy . Now on to the three wrestling figures .
 These three guys came together in a clear plastic bag for a little over four dollars . The guy in the middle, Shark Boy is my favorite of the bunch because he's more articulated than the other two and looks cooler in my opinion .

 Shark Boy is from the TNA Wrestling line done by Marvel Toys . The year is posted on the bottom of his left boot and it says 2005 . He's a very cool figure and he fits  in well with today's WWE Mattel figures .
 I do not know the name of this guy however he is dated 2003 and is a WWE Jakks Pacific figure .

 This figure of Chris Benoit is when he was in the WWE and not WCW . He also is dated 2003 and also belongs to Jakks Pacific .



This robot is one of the Boxing Robots courtesy of  MerchSource . Dated 2014 I found this red one with his head missing . The battery compartment is on the back and the on/off switch is on the right hand side of the figure's mid-section . To see what the robots really looked like view the pic below courtesy of Amazon.com and not me .
Even though my purchase is missing his head, I could not pass him up for only 99 cents . Plus after researching these robots by googling them, I now want to purchase a complete set . Just find you a brother or any relative or a good friend willing to play against you and have fun !!! That's all for now and there will be more of these type of posts in the future. I hope you all enjoyed the article but before  I go below are the links I promised earlier to the past articles , just in case you may have missed them .
(1) Flea Market and Thrift Store Finds Part One

(2) Flea Market and Thrift Store Finds Part Two

(3) Flea Market and Thrift Store Finds Part Three

(4) Flea Market and Thrift Store Finds Part Four

(5) Flea Market and Thrift Store Finds Part Five

(6) Flea Market and Thrift Store Finds Part Six

Monday, July 30, 2018

July 2018 Contest !!! Win 10 dollars via Paypal !!!

Give the character's name and toy line .
You have until August 31, 2018 to give the correct answers . GOOD  LUCK  TO  EVERYONE  !!!

Sunday, July 29, 2018

MARVEL LEGENDS - Malekith Review !!!

This Malekith figure is basically a reissued re-painted figure. The first Marvel Legend of Malekith came out a while ago packaged along with other figures in the Thor five pack last year. The differences between this newer version and the older one is that the hair colors are different along with different colored attire . The wrist bracelets are also different colors. Malekith is a Thor villain and this version is a part of the Cull-Obsidian build-a-figure wave . I purchased this figure of Malekith at a local Walmart for around the $ 19.99 price range .The Youtube Reviewer Shartimus Prime reviewed the first Malekith figure last year from that five figure box set. He gets to Malekith around the 7:45 mark of the video. If you want to see that video  here's the link to it ( NOTE ) Hit the Skip Ad section of the LinkBucks link to view the video - Shartimus Prime Youtube 2017 SDCC Thor Box Set Review !!!



If you're having difficulty seeing the bio it says " The ruler of the Dark Elves of Svartalfheim ,
Malekith the Accursed uses dark magic to bring vengeful destruction to the universe ". 
As you can see Malekith comes with the right arm of the Cull-Obsidian build-a-figure .
Malekith also comes with Cull-Obsidian's hammer like weapon , which is nicely sealed in separate plastic sealing behind the figure .


The multi-colored face reminds me of another villain from another franchise, none other than Eclipso from DC .
My thoughts on the Malekith figure since I missed out on the first one is that the figure itself is decent . I'm more impressed with the figure's features than I am with the overall look of the figure . By that statement I am referring to features such as his shoulder pads and the unique style and blend of the colors in his hair . The skirt piece is nicely done . His shirt collar and neck wear are attached /sculpted together . I also think that Malekith has one of the most interesting and unique weapons in the line also. The ridged section of his sword seems like more of a chopping weapon than a slashing one . Very similar to a machete .
I also like how bright and vivid the colors on Malekith are . I love the gold bracelets on his wrists along with the blend of dark reds and light reds in his attire . Very nice cool looking colors along with his skin being a very colorful light blue . My only gripe about this figure is his facial expression . He almost looks too happy in my opinion . Since he is supposed to be a villain, he needs to look more sinister looking with his facial expression . He needs to have more of a real frown combined with a mischievous looking smile . Other than that gripe a nice action figure .
                                                                FINAL    THOUGHTS
(1) ARTICULATION  LIMITS - Only limited upward head movement because of the hard long plastic hair.

(2) STANDING  ABILITY - Once in a proper stance the figure stands well .

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - The hair is awesome. Nice sculpting . A very colorful action figure with some nice colors and blending of colors.

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THE  FIGURE ? - The hair restricts upward head movement
.
(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THE  FIGURE ?- Softer plastic for the hair to allow upward head movement .

(6) GRADING  SCALE - If the hair was softer, Perfect 10. Since it's not a 9.8 is fair .

(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS - It's a luxury to have another Thor villain to go along with the likes of Loki, The Destroyer , etc .

Wednesday, July 25, 2018

Celebrities that are toy collectors !!

Besides collecting action figures, I also buy and read tabloids every now and then . The July 23, 2018 issue of the National Examiner is where the pics in this post come from . The article had mentioned the following celebrities as toy collectors .


Looks like Leonardo Dicaprio is into super hero figures, Rosie O' Donnell is into collecting dolls and Happy Meal Toys , singer Rod Stewart loves his train collections .
But wait there's more. Video footage courtesy of Youtube of two guys in the music business. Both of these guys had their best days of being famous in the 1980s . I'm talking about Rick Springfield and Rapper Biz Markie .
Here's a link to Springfield showing off his vintage Star Wars Toy Collection - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VtAANVXQjUU&t=108s

Now here's a link to one of Biz Markie's vids of him collecting toys - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JBs42rPDUzk

That's it for now. Hope you enjoyed this post I hope to have more similar in the future for your enjoyment.

Tuesday, July 24, 2018

Armchair coverage of things that " STOOD OUT" to me at the 2018 San Diego Comic Con !!!

Here's a brief rundown of what got me excited at this year's SDCC ( San Diego Comic Con ) . I'm just focusing on five franchises in no particular order - Marvel. DC , Masters of the Universe, Star Wars and WWE Mattel .( NOTE ) NONE of the pictures are from me. The Marvel , DC , and MOTU pics are from Toynewsi.com . The Star Wars Black pic is from The Fwoosh and all of the WWE Mattel pics are courtesy of Ringside Collectibles - their Facebook page .
First let's start with the Marvel Legends. I think there were just as many cool new Marvel Legends revealed almost as much as the other toy lines. I'm really looking forward to that Black Panther Wave, the build-a-figure Kingpin, a new Black Cat , Silver Sable among others .














Out of all of the DC stuff shown with Multiverse and DC Collectibles , I was the most impressed with the Aqua-Man movie figures . Especially the sharks with the soldiers .


Out of the Masters of the Universe Classics reveals, I'm more excited for Snake Mountain than I was for any of the new figures shown. It's great to finally see Skeletor's bone throne, along with the discussion table that are shown in the Filmation episodes of MOTU . The figures shown are nice, but the majority of them have been seen before with the exception of Filmation versions of She-Ra, Fisto, Mantenna and Grizzlor . They're all cool figures however I'm disappointed that there were no figures of characters that " have yet to be made into a figure " .




There were not that many new Star Wars Black Series reveals however what was shown is impressive .





















The WWE reveals that I'm most looking forward to are in no particular order - Sensational Sherri, Ronda Rousey , Mable , and Goldberg . Looking forward to a lot of the others too.