Translate

Sunday, March 10, 2019

Toys that caught Action Figure Man's attention at New York Toy Fair 2019.

I know I'm a little late with this post as Toy Fair happened last month in February . Someone hit a phone pole recently and it knocked out my internet service for a few days. The problem is now fixed and I'm back. I do not have the time to go to New York Toy Fair personally so below is just a small sampling of links to everything that caught my attention .


MASTERS OF THE UNIVERSE CLASSICS -  The BIG NEWS on Classics was the arrival of the 1987 He-Man and Skeletor movie figures, along with Snake Mountain becoming ready for pre-order with a monthly payment plan to cover the 600 dollar price . I think it's great that we can make monthly payments on Snake Mountain rather than pay the 600 all at once. For more info click the following link - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=npf_7WhVd58 .

STAR WARS BLACK and MARVEL LEGENDS rundown by the Fwoosh - The FWOOSH covers both of these toylines in this video . I think my favorite Marvel Legend reveal is the classic look of Hydro-Man . Click the following link for the video - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1bpfs1eRvE&t=260s

WWE MATTEL  REVEALS - Ringside collectibles gives a sneak peak at's what's coming in this short video. The most exciting reveals to me are Mabel, Sensational Sherri, and the new Ronda Rousey and Hardy Boys figures . Video is here - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jmzhR0zt0UE

STORM  COLLECTIBLES - A short rundown of some cool looking figures from Storm Collectibles. Like the new Street Fighter and Mortal Kombat figures, along with the Mike Tyson M . Ali figures . Video is here - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fq9O4zC3RjI

That's it for now. It was a lot of cool looking toys that caught my eye but those are the main toy lines I basically glance at first .

Thursday, February 28, 2019

February 2019 Contest . Win 10 Dollars via Paypal !!!

Win 10 dollars via Paypal for the name of the figure and toyline .
You have until March 31, 2019 to have the correct answers . GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE !!!

No winner for January 2019 Contest .

Unfortunately no one won the January 2019 Contest , Below is what was shown .
Below is the answer .
DC Comics Multiverse - Legends of Tomorrow Hawkman . GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE IN THE NEXT CONTEST !!!

Sunday, February 24, 2019

Fortnite - Cuddle Team Leader Review !!! Seven Inch Scale .

This is my second action figure of a Fortnite character , although my first of a seven inch version . My first Fortnite figure was Teknique in the four inch scale. However both figures are of different companies. The Teknique figure is from Jazwares and this current Cuddle Team Leader figure is courtesy of McFarlane Toys . If you missed the review of that four inch scaled Teknique figure you can click the following link - https://actionfigureimagerytoyreviews.blogspot.com/2018/12/fortnite-teknique-review.html . I purchased this Cuddle Team Leader figure for a little over 20 dollars at a local Walmart .




On the back of the packaging you can clearly see that the figures are in the seven inch scale .
As you can see Cuddle Team Leader comes with three accessories . A rifle, a bow tie and the unicorn like accessory . On a side note, it seems like the month of February is the perfect month to review a figure like this because of Valentines Day being inside the month . Even though this review is not on Valentines Day but Cuddle Team Leader does have Valentine related things about her such as the word " cuddle" and by her outfit being all pink, in which pink is a color associated with Valentines.

A closer look at the figure stand . Look closely and you'll see the Fortnite word logo .
I usually do not collect too many figures that are above six inch scale, however this Cuddle Team Leader figure caught my attention . When you first see it in person it looks as if it could be in six inch scale . Once removed from the packaging that's when you'll notice its real height . Despite being in the seven inch scale I like this figure . My only complaint is that I wish she came with an unmasked head . Either supply an extra unmasked head with the figure or make the teddy bear head removable . Either option would have been a good choice . I'm sure not just Fortnite fans, but action figure fans too want to see what she looks like under that mascot like mask .
The Cuddle Team Leader action figure is nicely detailed . The fur on the pink suit is detailed nicely, plus I love the bright vivid pink and purple colors on her. She is very articulated , having almost as much articulation as today's average Marvel Legend figure . The only limited points of articulation seem to be no thigh swivels and the foot pivots do not allow the feet to point all the way downward . Cuddle Team Leader has a trigger finger on her left hand for holding her rifle. However it's sort of difficult for her to get a tight grip on it. The right hand has no trigger finger however the gun can be held tightly and securely by her in this hand .
As you can see Cuddle Team Leader stands right at about seven inches tall.
Above a comparison shot of Cuddle Team Leader next to a Marvel Legend Chameleon figure. I knew the height difference would be there however I did not know that she would look this tall standing next to an average size six inch scale figure . She literally towers over him .


The hole in the upper back is where the bow tie goes .
A close up of how the bow looks on her . It inserts into the peg very securely and you do not have to worry about it falling out .
Out of Cuddle's accessories , my most favorites are the rifle and bow tie. The rifle looks cool in my opinion plus the beige color gives it it's own unique design from the average colored black or silver firearms. I think the bow piece is a neatly designed decoration piece for the character despite it belonging on her back instead of around her neck . I do not care too much for the unicorn piece accessory except that I do like the colors on it . I love that bright vivid light blue along with the purple and the colors that make up that rainbow . The gold on the horn looks nice also .
                                                              FINAL    THOUGHTS  

(1)  ARTICULATION  LIMITS  -  All of the articulation seems to be well rounded . She even has pivots at the shoulders that allow inward arm movement. No thigh swivels and the foot pivots point downward to a certain degree.

(2) STANDING  ABILITY  - Once positioned properly the figure stands well .

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - Nice articulation and tight joints. Very colorful figure with bright vivid beautiful colors along with her accessories.

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - Not really a dislike however it would be nice if she came with an unmasked head .

(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THIS  FIGURE ? - Provide an extra unmasked head .

(6) GRADING  SCALE  -  A Perfect 10 despite my one complaint of not having an extra unmasked head .

(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS - Not sure how many will be into these seven inch scaled Fortnite figures since it was just recently announced at New York Toy Fair 2019 that six inch scaled Fortnite figures are on the way. Unless you are a die-hard collector that will buy these figures in all scales.

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

Some Notable black action figures of 2018 with a look ahead at upcoming 2019 black figures.

In honor of Black History Month of February 2019 Action Figure Imagery takes a look at some of the best black action figures of 2018, along with a sneak at a few coming this year . ( NOTE ) NOT pictured are the Second wave of Black Panther figures of the black figures in the build-a-figure M'Baku series. They are not pictured because I am not sure which year they belong in, 2018 or 2019 ? Because they were announced last year but probably did not start appearing in stores until this year . I have yet to bump into any of those figures yet in person at the time of this writing . First up are some of the best black action figures of 2018 .
 Marvel Legends Nakia
 Marvel Legends Cloak
 Marvel Legends unmasked Erik Killmonger
The above 1/12 Mike Tyson figure is from last year. I currently do not have him in my collection but will buy this one and the newer version as soon as it comes out. The following pics along with the above Tyson pic are courtesy of " BIG BAD TOY STORE " alongside RINGSIDE COLLECTIBLES and NOT me . All of the figures below are due out this year. Ali , Mabel from WWE and another Mike Tyson figure .



Wednesday, February 13, 2019

HAPPY VALENTINE'S 2019 !!! A look back at past tributes.

Happy Valentine's Day everyone !!! The following are revisits of past tributes, action figure style -
The following is the 2014 tribute - https://actionfigureimagerytoyreviews.blogspot.com/2014/02/valentines-day-tribute-2014-action.html .

Here's the link to the 2015 tribute - https://actionfigureimagerytoyreviews.blogspot.com/2015/02/happy-valentines-day-action-figure.html . 

The other years looks back at those tributes.

Sunday, February 10, 2019

Marvel Legends - Grey Gargoyle Review !!!

The Grey Gargoyle is a "first time in the line" figure . This is another character I have been wanting a Marvel Legend of since the Toybiz days. I wanted a Legend of him because of his cool super power, plus because also his appearance in the first Marvel Ultimate Alliance video game made me want an action figure of him . Now that he's finally here, I like the figure but is not overly impressed with it . You will see why as you read further . I purchased this figure of the grey Gargoyle at a local Walmart for around the $ 19.99 price range . Grey Gargoyle is a part of Captain Marvel build- a - figure Kree Sentry series .




 If you're having difficulty seeing the bio it says " Dr. Paul Duval discovers his ability to turn his body to stone and becomes the transmuting mercenary , Grey Gargoyle !
 As you can see Grey Gargoyle comes with the head of the build-a-figure Kree Sentry .
 Also this is something different . Hasbro is now putting extra clear shell casings in front of the figures whereas past figures have no up front shell casings. This is a smart move in my opinion because it keeps figures from getting damaged while in transit .

 I think the best luxuries of this Grey Gargoyle figure is that there are some new body molds for some parts on him. The feet are new to my knowledge and have never been used before on another figure. My main gripe over the Grey Gargoyle is that I wish he had a stone/rock like texture over his entire body to give him a stone like appearance, staying true to the character's main gimmick of being a living creature literally made out of stone. Instead he looks like a flesh human being with grey paint scattered all over his body and face, with no rocky textures . Overall he is a cool figure.
An up close look at the Gargoyle's face . You can see his mustache if you look closely enough . I'm not a fan of the facial expression because he is a villain and why are the villains smiling? I know it's supposed to be a sinister or mischievous smile however I prefer the bad guys to not be smiling period . I grew up with the old school mentality that only the good guys/ heroes should be smiling and the villains/bad guys should be looking angry, and I still feel that way today . 

The Grey Gargoyle's cape looks great . It is a rubbery plastic that is not too soft or hard . Plus it can be removed and placed back on . His belt is movable also . 


 As you can see the Grey Gargoyle stands at a little bit over six inches in height .
Even though I like the Grey Gargoyle action figure, the above pic is the look I wish the toy had . With the blue mask ,blue cape and blue shorts/ trunks, to go along with his boots and gloves. On the figure only the gloves and boots are colored blue, whereas everything else is grey . I think the above look on that comic would have been more cooler looking than what the current figure looks like . In my opinion all of the greys kind of give the figure a bland look .
                                                    FINAL   THOUGHTS 

( 1 ) ARTICULATION  LIMITS  - No limits excellent all around articulation. Even the head can move all the way up and down .

( 2 ) STANDING  ABILITY  - Since the figure is flat footed he stands well when in a proper stance.

( 3 ) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - His cape is nice. Nice all around articulation and the luxury of having a " first time in the line " character in the series that has a cool super power, turning just about anything into stone. He is also a member of one of the " Masters of Evil teams, so if you are looking to add more members to that famous Marvel villain team now you can .

( 4 ) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - I have two dislikes about this figure however one of the gripes can be corrected with customization . (a) Dislike number one is that the mask , shorts and cape are NOT colored blue like the gloves and boots. The figure is almost basically 90-95% grey in color, and I think this appearance gives him somewhat of a bland and almost boring look. However this is the dislike that can be corrected by customizing / coloring those parts to match the gloves and boots, giving him a cooler look . ( b ) My second gripe is since the Grey Gargoyle is made of stone I think he should have a rocky texture or appearance which he does not . As previously mentioned a rocky like textured appearance would be great for his gimmick .

( 5 ) WHAT  COULD  BE  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THE  FIGURE ? - Color his mask, trunks and cape the same color as his gloves and boots. Give the figure a rocky stone like texture .

( 6 ) GRADING SCALE - On a scale of 1-10 I think a 9.5 is decent . The minuses are for what I mentioned about my previously mentioned dislikes of being bland looking without a rocky texture . Other than those gripes the Grey Gargoyle is a cool figure .

( 7 ) FINAL  ANALYSIS - Despite the gripes it is always great to get a new figure in the lineup. If you're like me about the coloring some parts to match the color of the gloves and boots, it is up to you rather you want to customize the figure yourself or pay a customizer to do it for you. Also some advice if you decide to do it yourself I would recommend purchasing another Grey Gargoyle Legend just in case if you are worried about messing up the original .

Monday, February 4, 2019

Congrats to Tom Brady and the New England Patriots. A look back at some old posts of a McFarlane Toys Brady figure.

Here's another action figure tribute to the Patriots Legend . There are several Tom Brady figures by McFarlane, however this one is the only one in my collection . 
The following is a link to the 2015 tribute when he won the Super Bowl  - https://actionfigureimagerytoyreviews.blogspot.com/2015/02/an-action-figure-tribute-to-2015.html .  

Thursday, January 31, 2019

No winner for the December 2018 Contest .

Unfortunately no one won the December 2018 Contest . Below is what was shown.

Below are the answers. 

WWE Mattel Charlotte Flair and Star Wars Black Series Han Solo . The first pair of boots posted belong to her and the shiny black ones to him . 

Tuesday, January 29, 2019

January 2019 Contest !!! Win 10 dollars via Paypal !!!

List the name of the figure and the toy line .
Contest expires February 28, 2019 . GOOD  LUCK  TO EVERYONE !!!

Sunday, January 27, 2019

Some of Action Figure Man's favorite action figures of 2018 !!!

Since it's January and a lot of 2019 figures of various lines have not made stores yet, here's a look at some of my favorite action figures from last year . A lot of these figures have already been reviewed here on this site and a few of them have not . Also notice that the title of this post refers to " SOME " of my favorite action figures from the year 2018, not all, with emphasis on the word some. If I list everything that would be too many too list . I also give reasons as to why I like each figure so much .
DC  Multiverse Spoiler figure - highlights of this figure in my opinion are her cape and triple nunchuks . The luxury of displaying her at multiple attack angles is fun .
Marvel Legends Erik Killmonger - One of the best Marvel Legends of the year of 2018 . Love the pivot shoulders .
Star Wars Black Series Qi'Ra - She looks great I love the realistic face sculpt and her civilian look with casual everyday attire/ clothing .
WWE Mattel Mean Gene Okerlund - One of the best WWE Mattel figures . The best features being that you can switch jackets with Gene, deciding rather you want him in the blue in the pic above or the extra red one.
WWE Mattel Alundra Blayze - The luxury of having another old school WWE Diva in the line along with being a former WWE Women's Champion .
Marvel Legends Nakia - From the first Black Panther wave . A great start for the Dora Milaje army builders .
Marvel Legends Doctor Octopus - I recently purchased this Doc Oc figure from last year so there is no review on this site for him at the time of this writing . The things I like best about this figure is that you can see his eyes underneath, his angry facial expression with the gritty teeth, good details in the face and hair and finally a new action figure body mold . Nicely done Hasbro.
Marvel Legends Cloak and Dagger - Just recently purchased these two also so they have not been reviewed on this site at the time of this writing. Even though they come separate however I chose to pose them together since they are a couple. The best thing I think about Cloak is that you can pose him in multiple display options . As for Dagger she looks great. Nice facial sculpt and the luxury of the multiple poses that can be displayed with her using her dagger light accessory .
DC Multiverse Mera - Based on the recently released successful Aquaman movie, I love her colorful blueish green costume with the shiny glitter, nice facial sculpt and the extra hands with the water blasts allow for multiple display options .
Marvel Legends Everett Ross - Comes with the unmasked Erik Killmonger figure, Ross is another nice addition to the suit and tie guys in the franchise .
Marvel Legends unmasked Erik Killmonger - This is the same Killmonger figure as the first one the only differences are a new paint scheme and the unmasked head .