Translate

Sunday, July 21, 2019

Old Star Wars action figure comic book ad from 1978

This ad is from a 1978 issue of Peter Parker- The Spectacular Spider-Man//////////////////volume one number 19 . Wish prices were still like that today .

Friday, July 12, 2019

Marvel Legends - Skullbuster Review !!!

When I first saw Skullbuster I thought he was a variant version of the Captain America villain known as Crossbones . I immediately thought it was Crossbones with a different look. I'm the type of browser that view the pictures of an article first before reading the dialogue . Then once I read the dialogue and discovered that I was looking at a character I knew nothing about , bout thought he was really cool looking . This was back when Skullbuster was first revealed at one of the Cons or Toy fairs.  I purchased this figure of Skullbuster at a local Walgreens for around the $ 19.99 price range . You can purchase Skullbuster thru my Entertainment Earth Affiliate link by clicking the following link ------    Purchase Skullbuster here !!!

If you're having difficulty seeing the bio dialogue it says " An enemy of the X-Men , the Skullbuster is a member of the villainous gang called the Reavers .




 I really love this action figure despite not knowing of his existence at first . Skullbuster is really cool . Even though his body is a re-used mold of Deathlok , he feels and looks like a completely new figure . There are quite a bit of fun features to like about this figure . The spikes on his right shoulder pad, along with his cybernetic look  are nice features. You also have the luxury of displaying him with his gun in hand or in his holster .
From a distance it looks as if Skullbuster is wearing a mask , however when zooming up close you can clearly see that his face is painted with makeup , or warpaint , depending on how you view the situation .
As you can see Skullbuster stands a little over six inches tall .
Above the right arm of the Caliban build-a-figure .
This head packaged with Skullbuster is that of his Reavers teammate known as Murray Reese . The goggles are movable and can be removed . When I first saw this head I was thinking to myself that it may be the real face of the Skullbuster. I did not know I was looking at the head of a completely different character . I discovered the real identity of the head by watching Shartimus Prime's Youtube Review on Skullbuster. Another great luxury of the extra head other than belonging to another character is that the goggles can be placed onto the head of another figure if that is your wish . If you look around the web, most collectors suggest using the body of the Marvel Legends Nuke figure for the head of Murray Reese . 
As you can see Skullbuster is armed to the teeth. Just look at all of those golden bullets. Plus he has lots of cartridges for his gun . I also love how those gold bullets , from a distance actually resembles real bullets . They actually look like real shiny metal bullets due to the lighting from the camera flash .
Skullbuster standing next to one of the figures in this wave along with one of his main X-Men enemies , known as Forge .
                                          FINAL   THOUGHTS  

( 1 ) ARTICULATION  LIMITS  - Excellent all around articulation .

( 2 ) STANDING  ABILITY -  Stands very well with good balance.

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - The spikes on his right shoulder pad , his cybernetic features especially the hands. I love the vest along with it's features such as the cartridges. I like that's it's removable with the luxury of placing it onto other figures . Plus the extra Murray Reese head is great to have .

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE  ? - No dislikes .

(5) WHAT  SHOULD  BE  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THIS  FIGURE ? -No improvements needed .

(6) GRADING  SCALE  - A  Perfect 10 I could find no flaws .

(7)  FINAL  ANALYSIS  -  Hopefully the rest of the Reavers will be on their way soon .






Wednesday, July 3, 2019

Happy Independence Day 2019 !!!

Hope you all enjoy the holiday!!! Here's a look back at an old tribute based on patriotic action figures ----  http://actionfigureimagerytoyreviews.blogspot.com/2014/07/happy-4th-of-july-look-at-some.html .

Independence Day a day of barbecue and fireworks . Everyone enjoy the day and God bless !!!

Saturday, June 29, 2019

June 2019 Contest !!! Win 10 Dollars via Paypal !!!

Give the names of the figures and the toy lines

Contest expires July 31, 2019. GOOD LUCK EVERYONE !!!

Monday, June 24, 2019

Amazon.com Toy Guide ???


Is Amazon.com releasing a toy catalog ? If this is to be, it will be nice to have one and bring back memories of browsing through those old Sears Christmas catalogs . For more information click the following link --  https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2018-07-04/amazon-said-to-take-page-from-toys-r-us-with-holiday-catalog

Sunday, June 23, 2019

DollarTree finds June 2019 !!!

The following is a brief summary of a couple of figures I purchased at a local Dollar Tree . ( NOTE ) This is more of a brief summary than an actual figure review.

 This polar bear figure has no articulation . However it has good realistic features such as the fur along with the face . This is a neat polar bear figure for those of you that like to add animal figures to your collection . If you have any Animal Planet polar bear figures this figure will fit in really well with them . You can pretend that this figure is a baby polar bear if you have any larger polar bear figures . The company responsible for this figure is known as Greenbrier International , a company known for making dollar store figures .

 This military figure is also done by Greenbrier International . The same company made both of these figures in this post . This soldier as you can see comes with two rifles and backpack military gear. The only points of articulation are the arms and legs move up and down , and his head turns side to side . Greenbrier International has made quite a bit of these army figures in the past , so if they keep on coming a collector can have themselves a nice number of of soldier figures to army build with .

 As you can see his weapons can be used by your average Marvel Legends figure , or any figure around the six inch scale size range .
As you can see the soldier stands at a little over five inches tall . Despite that he can still fit in well with smaller six inch scale figures . One can just pretend that he's just a short guy .

Friday, June 21, 2019

Toys R Us coming back later this year ???

An interesting article courtesy of  Fox Business , complete with dialogue and video - Is Toys or Us coming back ? Read article here ---- https://www.foxbusiness.com/retail/toys-r-us-to-open-stores

Monday, June 17, 2019

Marvel Legends - Loki and Corvus Glaive

Even though Corvus Glaive  debuted in the Infinity War movie last year, his Marvel Legends debut is just happening this year. I purchased this two-pack only because of Glaive and not Loki . Since Glaive is a " first time in the line " figure . Plus it's always nice to add a new character to the collection along with a member of an elite team . I purchased this two-pack at a local Walmart for around the $ 39.99 price range .



If you're having difficulty seeing the bios it says " Known for his shifting allegiances , Loki faces evil head on when he is confronted by the Black Order - a sinister group of Thanos cohorts that includes the menacing Corvus Glaive .
As you can see the accessory for Loki is the cosmic cube and Corvus Glaive comes with his scythe .

Even though I was only excited about getting Glaive and not Loki , Loki is still a great action figure too .
With the new photo realistic technology to make the figures a perfect representation of the actors , the movie figures are coming along nicely .

Loki's cape / cloak fits firmly over his shoulders .

A comparison shot of the original Loki figure based on the actor that played him, based on his looks from the first Avengers film compared to his looks in the Infinity War movie. One shot is with the helmet and the second shot is without the helmet .
As you can see the helmet from the older Loki figure is two big to fit onto the head of this newer one. Which is sort of surprising considering that this newer version is taller and bigger than that previous version . If anything one would probably think that the helmet may be to small for the newer figure but as you can see that is not the case .
Now for a look at the figure I purchased this two-pack for. Corvus Glaive turned out to be really cool looking and also a perfect likeness to the movie . Plus it's a luxury to have another member of Thanos' Black Order in the collection . I love the looks of the gold trimmings on his black costume . His weapon can fit in either hand . The weapon looks great too with the gold paint on the blades. Is it just me or does he kind of remind anyone of Frank Langella's version of Skeletor from the 1987 Masters of the Universe movie . Both Glaive and that version of Skeletor look very similar in my opinion . Their outfits are the same type of colors plus they both have hooded heads .
Close up of Corvus' face .
As you can see Corvus is right at just about seven inches tall .
As you can see Corvus is clearly taller than Loki . I'm not sure if it's the character's or the actual actors though, when it comes to height comparisons .
The back of Corvus Glaive's outfit is just as decorative as the front .
Above a side by side pic of Corvus next to his wife , Proxima Midnight . I reviewed Proxima Midnight last year and in case you missed that review of her here's the link to that review --- https://actionfigureimagerytoyreviews.blogspot.com/2018/05/marvel-legends-proxima-midnight-review.html .
                                                    FINAL     THOUGHTS 

( 1 ) ARTICULATION  LIMITS  - Limited upward head movement for both .

( 2 ) STANDING  ABILITY - Both figures stand well when in a proper stance . Glaive's cloak also keeps him from falling backwards because it touches the ground .

( 3 )  WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THESE  FIGURES  ? -  Corvus Glaive - the luxury of having another member of Thanos Black Order added to the collection . The gold on his costume and his weapon . Loki - great job with the photo realistic technology on his face. Perfect likeness to the actor.

( 4 ) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THESE  FIGURES ?  - No dislikes .

( 5 ) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THESE  FIGURES ? -  No improvements needed .

( 6 ) GRADING  SCALE  -  Perfect 10 for both .

( 7 ) FINAL  ANALYSIS  - Usually when I purchase a two-pack I normally want both figures . All I wanted from this two pack was Corvus Glaive and not Loki . However I ended up being pleased with both figures .

Saturday, June 1, 2019

No winner for the April 2019 Contest .

Unfortunately no one won the April 2019 Contest . Below is what was shown .

Below are the answers

The ankles and feet belong to a DC Direct Black Manta figure and a WWE Mattel Natalya  figure. Good luck to everyone for the June Contest because the May Contest has already been won .

Friday, May 31, 2019

Congratulations to Brothermidnight for winning the May 2019 Contest !!!

Have a look at his correct answers in the post below this one. Congrats again Brothermidnight !!!

Thursday, May 30, 2019

May 2019 Contest !!! Win 10 Dollars via Paypal !!!

Win 10 dollars via Paypal if you can tell me the name of every figure in the picture below along with the toy line they are from . The pic by the way is courtesy of Weird Fantastic Toys . Just google the name and you will see that this person is on a variety of media. He has Facebook, Twitter, Youtube and a Blogger account / page .
As you can see there are SEVEN people you must name. Contest ends June 30, 2019 .  Good luck to everyone !!!

Wednesday, May 29, 2019

Just made my first and only sale on Teepublic.com recently .

For those of you not familiar with Teepublic , it is an online store where ANYONE can make money selling t-shirts or other products using their designs. I mentioned my only sale because it is toy related . A Thunder-Punch He-Man tank top . Below is a look at it .
If you are interested in ordering a shirt , here's the link  ----   https://www.teepublic.com/tank-top/415410-thunder-punch-he-man-tank-top?store_id=74827 .

Also I made a Sy-Klone t-shirt .
If you want a Sy-Klone Shirt here's the link  ---    https://www.teepublic.com/t-shirt/415291-sy-klone-radar-design-shirt?store_id=74827   .

As you can see I used the colors to match the look of the character's colors. Since Sy-Klone's armor is blue a blue t-shirt is perfect . And Thunder Punch He-Man has red armor so therefore a red tank top to match his colors . Below is a pic of the first and only aforementioned sale .
Hopefully more sales are on the way . I'm sure no one gets excited over 2 dollars .